FIA F3 European Championship
Vips, Aron share wins in Misano
Photo Credit: FIA Formula 3 European Championship

Vips, Aron share wins in Misano

At the Misano World Circuit, Jüri Vips and Ralf Aron took a win apiece on Sunday as Daniel Ticktum finished in fourth place both the races and remains in the lead of  the FIA Formula 3 European Championship drivers’ standings.

Motopark‘s Vips scored his third victory of the season in the second race of the weekend. The Estonian rookie driver won from Alex Palou and Mick Schumacher, moving up to second in the championship.

Vips returned from the opening lap as the race leader ahead of the Hitech duo Palou and Enaam Ahmed. The Spaniard initially put the leader under pressure, while Ahmed had to let Jehan Daruvala and Schumacher pass on the fourth lap. Four laps later, the Indian made a mistake from which Schumacher benefited to claim the third place. The German closed the gap to Vips and Palou in front of him with a few minutes remaining. Daniel Ticktum overtook Ferdinand Habsburg and Aron to claim the fifth position. As Ahmed was given a five seconds’ time penalty for repeatedly exceeding the track limits, the Briton even moved up to fourth. Ahmed was classified sixth behind Aron, Habsburg, Sacha Fenestraz, Robert Shvartzman and Fabio Scherer rounded out the top ten.

Due to the heavy rain, race three started behind the safety car. As conditions initially were too wet, the race was interrupted. 25 minutes later, the race finally got underway. Armstrong remained first from Aron and Vips. In the battle for fourth Guanyu Zhou soon had to let Ferdinand Habsburg get past.

On the tenth lap, Aron claimed the top position from Armstrong. As both Sebastian Fernandez and Marino Sato slid into the gravel trap, race control sent out the safety car once more. After the restart, Habsburg and Vips staged a thrilling duel for second place, in which Vips eventually came out on top after several position changes. He took the chequered flag in second place behind Aron and ahead of Habsburg. Ticktum was fourth across the line from Schumacher, Palou, Robert Shvartzman, Scherer, Daruvala and Ahmed.

The next FIA Formula 3 European Championship round will be taking place at the Nürburgring track in a fortnight.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Mick Schumacher Prema Theodore Racing 35:51.668, 24 laps »
Race 2 Jüri Vips Motopark 34:38.779, 23 laps »
Race 3 Ralf Aron Prema Theodore Racing 58:57.472, 17 laps »
Qualifying 1 Mick Schumacher Prema Theodore Racing 1:27.934 »
Qualifying 2 Jüri Vips Motopark 1:46.004 »
Free Practice 1 Daniel Ticktum Motopark 1:29.444 »
Free Practice 2 Ralf Aron Prema Theodore Racing 1:28.719 »
Share Button