Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe
Titles to be settled at Paul Ricard
Photo Credit: Lamborghini

Titles to be settled at Paul Ricard

The 2020 Lamborghini Super Trofeo Europe comes to the last round of the season this weekend at the Circuit Paul Ricard, with the Pro and Am titles set to be decided across two 50-minute races. The penultimate round of the season at Spa-Francorchamps was full of action, with Oregon Team’s Kevin Gilardoni moving to the top of the Pro standings after securing his third victory in a row in the opening race of the weekend. Race 2 was a shortened affair following a huge crash between Gilardoni, GSM Racing’s Jonathan Cecotto and Target Racing’s Raul Guzman. Despite suffering a cut to his left leg, Guzman has made a strong recovery and will rejoin team-mate Miloš Pavlović this weekend.

While two titles are up for grabs in the season-finale, another pair of championships were settled at Spa. Hans Fabri (Imperiale Racing) rounded off a dominant campaign with the Lamborghini Cup title, while Karol Basz and Andrzej Lewandowski (VS Racing) claimed Pro-Am honours.

Gilardoni – who will be with his regular team-mate Dorian Boccolacci this weekend after the Frenchman skipped the Spa round to focus on his participation in the 24 Hours of Spa – holds a 7.5-point advantage over Bonaldi Motorsport’s Dean Stoneman in the Pro standings. Pavlović and Guzman are not too far between in third, 16 points adrift of Gilardoni and just three ahead of Boccolacci and Target Racing team-mates Alberto Di Folco and Kevin Rossel. Cecotto and team-mate Patrick Liddy sit fifth in the standings on 59 points, while Leipert Motorsport’s Sebastian Balthasar lies three points further back on 56. With a total of 32 points on offer at Paul Ricard, five crews are in mathematical contention for the championship. Boccolacci cannot secure the title unless he races solo but can help Gilardoni score enough points to be crowned champion by Sunday morning.

There will be two new faces in the Pro category this weekend, with Johan Kraan Motorsport fielding a second car for Milan Teekens and Maxime Oosten. The Dutch pair join their compatriot Max Weering in the team and will drive the #54 Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo Evo. This weekend will also mark the Super Trofeo debut of FIA Formula 3 driver Alessio Deledda. The Italian, who drove for Campos Racing in the F1 support category in 2020, will drive the #6 VS Racing Huracán and is the second current Formula 3 star to participate in Lamborghini Super Trofeo, following Sebastian Fernandez’s guest appearance in the same car at Barcelona.

With the Pro-Am title wrapped up by Basz and Lewandowski, the battle is on to secure second in the standings. Currently occupying that position is Leipert Motorsport’s Mikko Eskelinen and Elias Niskanen on 75 points, with Oregon Team’s Lorenzo Bontempelli just 10 points behind. The Finnish duo will be looking to take their first class victory of the season at Paul Ricard, while Bontempelli is aiming to get up to speed with new team-mate Massimo Ciglia.

After claiming his fourth successive class win at Spa-Francorchamps last time out, Leipert Motorsport’s Yury Wagner – who again partners Fidel Leib this weekend – is just 10.5 points behind season-long Am leader Massimo Mantovani (Target Racing) ahead of the trip to France. Mantovani, who will continue his partnership with Sri Lankan racing driver Dilantha Malagamuwa, has not won since the Nürburgring in September, and knows that a strong weekend will be necessary if he is to come out on top in the battle for the class title. Boutsen Ginion Racing’s Giuseppe Fascicolo is third in the standings and something of a dark horse for the weekend. The Italian is joined again in the #4 car by Claude-Yves Gosselin and despite not taking a win all season so far, is just 17 points off Mantovani. Attempto Racing’s Holger Harmsen and Arkin Aka return for the final round, having last appeared at the Nürburgring, while Cedric Leimer is back with Autovitesse.

In the Lamborghini Cup, there are a mix of returnees and newcomers to the championship at Paul Ricard. Josef Zaruba makes his comeback to Micanek Motorsport after contesting the 2019 season alongside Jakub Knoll, while Hervé Leimer will run with Autovitesse. FFF Racing Team will also be in Super Trofeo action for the first time in 2020, with Donovan and Luciano Privitelio teaming up in the #8 Huracán Super Trofeo Evo.

Race 1 will take place on Saturday 14th with a scheduled start of 16:15. Race 2 is due to start at 09:10 on Sunday 15th. Both races, which include a mandatory pit-stop, last for 50 minutes and are streamed live on the Squadra Corse YouTube channel and Facebook page.

Share Button