European Le Mans Series
Thiriet TDS Racing wins 4H of Silverstone

Thiriet TDS Racing wins 4H of Silverstone

Thiriet by TDS Racing’s Morgan-Nissan LMP2 shared by Ludovic Baday, Tristan Gommendy and Pierre Thiriet, claimed the victory in the 2014 opening round of European Le Mans Series at Silverstone. The French team took the lead with 48 minutes to the end of the race, when Jota Sport’s Simon Dolan (Zytek Z11SN), who was in the first place, had a slight contact with a slower GTE car and went onto the grass to collide with the Morgan-Judd of Yacaman-Ihara.

The accident brought out the safety car for 15 laps and the race re-started with just 22 minutes to the chequered flag, when Gommedy managed to defend his position from the Oreca 03-Judd of Michel Frey, despite the heavy traffic from the 35 cars still on the track. Gary Hirsch, who was in turn driving the NewBlood by Morand Racing’s Morgan-Judd, finished third.

In LMGTE, following a non-stop fight, AF Corse’s Ferrari took the win with Duncan Cameron, Michele Rugolo and the 2013 Champion Matt Griffin in front of SMP Racing’s 458 Italia of Andrea Bertolini, Viktor Shaitar and Sergey Zlobin, while Raymond Narac, Nicolas Armindo and David Hallyday (Performance Matmut Porsche 911 GT3 RSR) completed the podium.

In the GTC class Team Ukraine’s Ferrari GT3 of Andriy Kruglyk, Sergey Chukanov and Alessandro Pier Guidi finished first, 7.4 seconds from the SMP Racing’s car shared by Olivier Beretta, David Markozov and Anton Ladygin. Jan Magnussen, Johnny Laursen and Mikkel Mac finished on the third step of the podium and scored their first points for Formula Racing.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Badey-Gommendy-Thiriet Morgan-Nissan / Thiriet by TDS Racing 4h00:29.711 »
Qualifying Albuquerque-Dolan-Tincknell Zytek Z11SN-Nissan / Jota Sport 1:47.702 »
Free Practice 1 Albuquerque-Dolan-Tincknell Zytek Z11SN-Nissan / Jota Sport 1:51.041 »
Free Practice 2 Dyson-KimberSmith-McMurry Zytek Z11SN-Nissan / Greaves Motorsport 1:49.499 »
Share Button