Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup
Ten Voorde takes dominant win at Monaco
Photo Credit: Porsche Media Service / Porsche Motorsport

Ten Voorde takes dominant win at Monaco

The reigning Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup champion Larry ten Voorde claimed a lights-to-flag victory at the Monaco opener for Team GP Elite. The Dutchman controlled the twice red-flagged race on the famous street circuit of Monte Carlo and crossed the finish line more than three seconds ahead of New Zealander Jaxon Evans (Martinet by Alméras).

Rookie Dorian Boccolacci (Martinet by Alméras) fended off repeated attacks from Austria’s Christopher Zöchling (Fach Auto Tech) to win the gripping duel for position three.

The first race of the Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup was a stopped after a few metres as several cars collided in the uphill section heading towards the Casino. The race was red-flagged due to the blocked racetrack. Six drivers were unable to restart behind the safety car. Another crash into the barriers shortly after the restart saw the safety car deployed again, this time for one lap.

After each of the two restarts, ten Voorde held on to his lead and proceeded to pull clear of his pursuer Evans by tenths of seconds. Bad luck hampered Porsche Junior Ayhancan Güven. While running in fifth position, the BWT Lechner Racing Turkish racing driver had to retire shortly before the finish with technical problems. However his teammate Dylan Pereira, launched an impressive charge through the field. After an accident in qualifying, the fastest in Free Practice had to take up the race from P27 – the second to last grid spot. The sports soldier took the flag in eleventh place and was rewarded for his outstanding performance with five championship points.

In addition to ex-Formula 2 driver Boccolacci, who gave a strong debut in Porsche’s international one-make cup with third place, Britain’s Harry King (Parker Revs Racing) and Italian Ludovico Laurini (Dinamic Motorsport) completed the rookie podium.

Victory in the Pro-Am class went to Frenchman Clément Mateu (Pierre Martinet by Alméras) ahead of Austrian Philipp Sager (Dinamic Motorsport).


Race. Monte-Carlo, 23 May 2021
1. Larry ten Voorde (Team GP Elite) 15 laps 25:45.487
2. Jaxon Evans (Martinet by Alméras) +3.276
3. Dorian Boccolacci (Martinet by Alméras) +6.610
4. Christopher Zöchling (Fach Auto Tech) +7.213
5. Florian Latorre (CLRT) +10.043
6. Leon Köhler (Nebulus Racing by Huber) +12.540
7. Simone Iaquinta (Dinamic Motorsport) +14.045
8. Tio Ellinas (Lechner Racing Middle East) +15.075
9. Harry King (Parker Revs Motorsport) +15.433
10. Steven Palette (CLRT) +20.153
11. Dylan Pereira (BWT Lechner Racing) +23.554
12. Marius Nakken (Fach Auto Tech) +26.739
13. Lodovico Laurini (Dinamic Motorsport) +30.022
14. Laurin Heinrich (Nebulus Racing by Huber) +42.468
15. Lucas Groeneveld (GP Elite) +48.819
16. Jesse van Kuijk (Team GP Elite) +50.176
17. Max van Splunteren (Team GP Elite) +1:17.835
18. Clément Mateu (Pierre Martinet by Alméras) +1:26.137
19. Philipp Sager (Dinamic Motorsport) +1.31.997
20. Ayhancan Güven (BWT Lechner Racing) +1 lap
Maxime Boulin (Fach Auto Tech) 5 laps
Michael Crees (Parker Revs Motorsport) 1 laps
Jean-Baptiste Simmenauer (BWT Lechner Racing) –
Roar Lindland (Nebulus Racing by Huber) –
Daan van Kuijk (GP Elite) –
Nicolas Misslin (Lechner Racing Middle East) –
Aaron Mason (Pierre Martinet by Alméras) –
Stéphane Denoual (Pierre Martinet by Alméras) –
Fastest lap: Larry ten Voorde (Team GP Elite) 13 lap 1:34.118

Share Button