Toyota Racing Series
Tang wins championship!

Tang wins championship!

Andrew Tang secured the 2014 Toyota Racing Series title at the Manfield track today. 19-year-old Singaporean, who was at his second season in Formula racing, showed an impressive consistency once more and claimed the victory in Race 1. After racing in Europe last year, Neale Motorsport’s driver won a total of three races out of 15 and had nine podium finishes, scoring four 2nd and two 3rd places.

Tang’s team mate Nick Cassidy and Steijn Schothorst (M2 Competition) won the other two races at Manfield. Cassidy set the pole of Q2 and scored a perfect hat trick in Race 3. Defending Toyota Racing Series champion has won the 59th New Zealand Grand Prix, becoming only the second driver to take three Grand Prix wins in a row. He joins Craig Baird, who won a hat trick of wins in 1991-1993. Cassidy won with three different teams: Giles Motorsport, M2 Competition and Neale Motorsport.

Giles Motorsport’s Jann Mardenborough finished second in Race 3 after having passed Tang who lost its right hand mirror. Briton also ended second in the championship ahead of Kiwi Damon Leitch, who finished the last race into the gravel. Schothorst was fourth ahead of top rookie Estonian Martin Rump.


1. Andrew Tang – Neale Motorsport – 791 pts
2. Jann Mardenborough – Giles Motorsport – 780 pts
3. Damon Leitch – Victory Motor Racing – 708 pts
4. Stejin Schothorst – M2 Competition – 632 pts
5. Martin Rump – Giles Motorsport – 623 pts


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Andrew Tang Neale Motorsport 18:36.215 »
Race 2 Stejin Schothorst M2 Competition 17:39.961 »
Race 3 Nick Cassidy Neale Motorsport 41:16.152 »
Qualifying 1 Nick Cassidy Neale Motorsport 1:10.012 »
Qualifying 2 Nick Cassidy Neale Motorsport 1:09.939 »
Share Button