24H Dubai
Stadler Motorsport wins 24H at Dubai

Stadler Motorsport wins 24H at Dubai

Swiss team Stadler Motorsport won the 2014 Dunlop 24H Dubai with a Porsche 997 GT3 R. After 603 laps, 3,250.17 kilometres, Rolf Ineichen drove the winning across the finish line to take the chequered flag. Ineichen shared driving duties with his country-fellows Adrian Astutz, Mark Ineichen, Marcel Matter and German Christian Engelhart. This is the first-ever win in the Dunlop 24H Dubai for a Swiss team and the fourth victory for a Porsche after earlier race wins in 2008, 2009 and 2010, making the brand from Stuttgart the manufacturer with the most overall wins in history of the race. Two Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 cars finished second and third. The ALLINKL.COM Münnich Motorsport team ended up second with WTCC driver Rob Huff, Marc Basseng and René Münnich, while the Team Abu Dhabi by Black Falcon finished third with Khaled Al Qubaisi, Abdulaziz Turki Al Faisal, Jeroen Bleekemolen, Adam Christodoulou and Hubert Haupt.

The last two years winning Team Abu Dhabi by Black Falcon Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 (Khaled Al Qubaisi, Jeroen Bleekemolen, Bernd Schneider, Andreas Simonsen), lost 30 minutes just before midnight due to problems with the electronics and then retired altogether due to several technical problems on Saturday morning. Ram Racing Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 (Cheerag Araya, Matt Griffin, Jan Magnussen, Johnny Mowlem) paid a collision and subsequent damage that took almost one hour to repair. The SX Team Schubert BMW Z4 GT3 (Bill Auberlen, Dane Cameron, Paul Dalla Lana, Claudia Hürtgen, Dirk Werner) also lost time in repairing a suspension damaged after a collision and suffered a subsequent puncture. Fach Auto Tech Porsche (Sebastian Asch, Connor de Philippi, Otto Klohs, Martin Ragginger) led for a long time during the night but dropped back following gearbox problems.

Dragon Racing team’s Ferrari 458 Italia GT3 (Khaled Al Mudhaf, Frédéric Fatien, Jordan Grogor, Mohammed Jawa) finished first in A6-Amateur class, followed by the rhino’s Leipert Motorsport Lamborghini Gallardo GT3 (Yoshiharu Mori, Jeroen Mul, Jan Stovicek, Isaac Tutumlu Lopez, Oliver Webb).

In the SP3 class, British team Speedworks Motorsport claimed victory with its Ginetta G50 (Christian Dick, Tony Hughes, Will Scully, Ross Warburton) while the Nissan GT Academy Team RJN did a great job by scoring first place in SP2 class with its Nissan 370Z (Stanislav Aksenov, Miguel Fasica, Nickolas McMillen, Lucas Ordonez, Florian Strauss).

In the A5 class Dutch team JR Motorsport repeated the win of the previous year with the BMW E46 GTR (Gijs Bessem, Koen Bogaerts, Roger Grouwels, Harry Hilders, Dziugas Tovilavicius). The Dutch Racing Divas also scored their second consecutive class win in the Dunlop 24H Dubai by ending up first in the A3T class with the Schubert Motorsport-run BMW 320D (Natasja Smit-Sø, Gaby Uljee, Shirley van der Lof, Sandra van der Sloot, Paulien Zwart).

The A2 class has been dominated by Danish team AD Racing/K-Rejser with their Renault Clio Sport (Martin Clausen, Jan Engelbrecht, Jacob Kristensen – the younger brother of nine times’ Le Mans winner Tom – and Jan Seerup). Belgian Recy Racing Team won the D1 Diesel class with its BMW 120D (Jan De Vocht, Wim Meulders, Thomas Piessens, Steffen Schlichenmeier, Johan Van Loo), having been in the lead of its class for most of the race.

The Forch Racing by Lukas Motorsport 997 Cup (Christofer Berckhan Ramirez, Stefan Bilinski, Andrzej Lewandowski, Robert Lukas) claimed top spot in the Porsche Cup class.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Amstutz-Engelhart-Ineichen-Ineichen-Matter Porsche 997/Stadler - »
Qualifying 1 Al Qubaisi-Bleekemolen-Schneider-Simonsen Mercedes SLS/Abu Dhabi 1:59.103 »
Qualifying 2 Mowle-Osborne-Rattenbury-Simms Ginetta G50/Optimum 2:10.894 »
Qualifying 3 Abresch-Hoff-Nathan-Pastorelli-Werkman Corvette/V8 Racing 1:57.282 »
Share Button