24H Endurance Series
Silverstone opens 24H TCE Series

Silverstone opens 24H TCE Series

24H Touring Car Endurance Series powered by Hankook gets underway with the Hankook 24H Silverstone this weekend, 31 March-2 April. 34 teams will be on the grid.

Silverstone is a bit special for us because we had our first-ever touring car-only race there last year. It marked the start of our 24H TCE Series powered by Hankook and now, we are delighted to be back for season two of the series, and another great event at Silverstone” – Creventic’s Natasha Mark said.

Based on the experience of the last year, the organisers have slightly modified the regulations to allow cars from the SP3-GT4 class to compete. SP3-GT4 and TCR cars are expected to perform at an equal level over the distance of a 12-hour or 24-hour race. As a result, the overall winner at Silverstone is expected to come from either the TCR class that has an entry of 15 cars, or from the SP3-GT4 category, with six cars entered.

British Team ABBA with Rollcentre Racing, the winner of last year’s Hankook 24H Silversone will be back in an attempt to repeat its success. Once again, they will line up a BMW M3 V8, now running among the SP3-GT4s. Other cars in this class are BMW 1M, Porsche Cayman GT4, Lotus Exige and Ginettas G50 and G55.

The TCR class has two Audi RS 3 LMSs, one Volkswagen Golf GTi TCR and 12 Seat Leon Cup Racers on the grid. The Volkswagen, run by Swedish outfit Lestrup Racing Team, is competing in the Creventic Series for the first time. Dutch team Red Camel-Jordans.nl that won the TCR class and came second overall last year, is running a brand-new Seat Leon Cup Racer. The A3 class includes six cars: three BMWs, two Hondas, one Mini and one Seat. Four BMW M235i Racing Cup cars have been entered in the CUP1 class while one Renault and one Honda from the A2 class round out the grid.

Free practice for the 24H TCE Series powered by Hankook is scheduled on Friday, 31 March, followed by qualifying and the night practice. On Saturday, 1 April, the race will start at 4pm local time, after the warm up session.

Share Button