GTSprint switches to Eurogtsprint

GTSprint switches to Eurogtsprint

GTSprint is ready to be back on-track for its fifth season with the new name Eurogtsprint. The series will sport many innovations, starting from the return to its early format featuring two, 40-minute sprint races per weekend. Teams and drivers will also line-up for two 45-minute practice sessions followed by two individual, 15-minute qualifying segments. With no pit-stops, drivers will be running the whole race providing some additional excitement. In case of teams with two drivers, the team-mates will be splitting duties during the official sessions and the races.

The FIA Authorized Series will be consisting of seven rounds: Monza (6 April), Hungaroring (4 May), Mugello (18 May), Brno (22 June), Portimão (20 July), Magny-Cours (7 September) and Imola (12 October).  The new GTSprint series will be partnering top-notch racing championships like the WTCC, Ferrari Challenge, GT Tour (French GT Championship) and the Italian Gran Turismo Championship.

The organization will rely on a new structure which will be exclusively dedicated to the series, ADM Organization, with headquarters in Vallelunga. Marketing and Communication will be managed directly by FG Group, in a partnership with Wige Media for the TV coverage and with Garage Group for the PR and Press department management.

56 race have been run in the GTSprint series and many competitive drivers established their names in the series’ roll of honour. The Alessandro Bonetti-Maurizio Mediani duo won the first edition on a Ferrari while Giuseppe Cirò-Gaetano Ardagna Perez kept the Maranello banner high in 2011. A new Ferrari, the 458 Italia GT2, made a winning debut in 2012 with Andrea Palma while German youngster Thomas Schöffler drove his Audi R8 LMS to title last season.

Share Button