Rowbottom delivers maiden BTCC pole
Photo Credit: BTCC Media Office

Rowbottom delivers maiden BTCC pole

Daniel Rowbottom edged out his three-time champion team-mate Gordon Shedden by an incredible 0.005s during qualifying, as Halfords Racing with Cataclean produced a stunning front-row lockout at Brands Hatch.

MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square’s Jake Hill had struggled with his Ford Focus during practice, but the Kent home hero bounced back brilliantly during qualifying to claim third. Hill had been the first man to set a representative lap time early on, and the championship challenger went even quicker on his next run during the first half of the 30-minute session. Despite his impressive pace, Hill couldn’t quite hang on as the Honda Civic Type R duo of Rowbottom and Shedden came through to steal the show.

Team BMW’s Tom Oliphant enjoyed an impressive day around the 1.2-mile Indy circuit and he was rewarded with fourth on the grid when the chequered flag fell. The Laser Tools Racing pairing of Aiden Moffat and Ash Sutton encouragingly claimed fifth and seventh respectively.


Qualifying. Brands Hatch Indy, 26 June 2021
1. Daniel ROWBOTTOM (Halfords Racing with Cataclean) 48.074s
2. Gordon SHEDDEN (Halfords Racing with Cataclean) +0.005s
3. Jake HILL (MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square) +0.105s
4. Tom OLIPHANT (Team BMW) +0.110s
5. Aiden MOFFAT (Laser Tools Racing) +0.244s
6. Tom INGRAM (Ginsters EXCELR8 with +0.258s
7. Ashley SUTTON (Laser Tools Racing) +0.296s
8. Chris SMILEY (Ginsters EXCELR8 with +0.298s
9. Josh COOK (BTC Racing) +0.333s
10. Stephen JELLEY (Team BMW) +0.354s
11. Jack GOFF (Team HARD with Autobrite Direct) +0.354s
12. Daniel LLOYD (Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing) +0.357s
13. Senna PROCTOR (BTC Racing) +0.359s
14. Colin TURKINGTON (Team BMW) +0.383s
15. Sam OSBORNE (Racing with Wera & Photon Group) +0.419s
16. Rory BUTCHER (Toyota Gazoo Racing UK) +0.432s
17. Jason PLATO (Adrian Flux with Power Maxed Racing) +0.448s
18. Carl BOARDLEY (Laser Tools Racing) +0.506s
19. Ollie JACKSON (MB Motorsport accelerated by Blue Square) +0.543s
20. Árón TAYLOR-SMITH (Team HARD. with HUB Financial Solutions) +0.603s
21. Adam MORGAN (Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport) +0.606s
22. Glynn GEDDIE (Team HARD. with Autobrite Direct) +0.653s
23. Jade EDWARDS (PHSC with BTC Racing) +0.682s
24. Tom CHILTON (Car Gods with Ciceley Motorsport) +0.811s
25. Rick PARFITT (EXCELR8 with +0.829s
26. Sam SMELT (Toyota Gazoo Racing UK) +0.835s
27. Jack BUTEL (EXCELR8 with +0.908s
28. Andy NEATE (Racing with Wera & Photon Group) +0.910s
29. Nicolas HAMILTON (ROKiT Racing with iQuoto Online Trading) +1.251s

Share Button