Euroformula Open
Rovera and Kanamaru share wins
Photo Credit: Speedy

Rovera and Kanamaru share wins

Yu Kanamaru and Alessio Rovera (pictured) shared the victories in the Euroformula Open Winter Series at Le Castellet. Japan’s racer clinched the pole for Emilio de Villota team by scoring the lap of 1:59.428, one tenth less than Vitor Baptista (RP Motorsport).

In Race 1 Kanamaru claimed a flag-to-flag win, ahead of Dzhon Simonyan (MKTG) and Rovera (BVM Racing). Baptista dropped to fifth at the start and finished fourth, followed by Tanart Sathienthirakul (Team West-Tec).

With the second grid decided by the first race result with top six reversed, Kanamaru made a sensational start and led the race for 12 laps before Rovera and Baptista passed him in the last corners, so Rovera – who is a newcomer for the Euroformula Open – claimed his first win in the series. Diego Menchaca (Campos Racing) brought home the fourth place, while his team mate Andrés Saravia rounded out the top 5.

Euroformula Open, Winter Series - Le Castellet, 6-7 March 2015

Share Button