GP2 Series
Rio Haryanto quickest on Day 2
Photo Credit: © GP2 Media Services - Sam Bloxham/LAT Photographic

Rio Haryanto quickest on Day 2

The second day of GP2 Series testing at Bahrain International Circuit opened this morning under overcast skies and in cooler temperatures. Jolyon Palmer, Takuya Izawa and Stoffel Vandoorne were quick to take to the track, but it was Conor Daly who topped the timesheets on Soft Pirelli tyres early into the session. Fellow countryman Alexander Rossi became the first man to dip under 1:41s today, but Daly went even quicker and lapped the track in 1:40.233. It was then Mitch Evans who found some extra pace to break under the 1m40s barrier. His laptime was bettered by Palmer by two hundredths, the Briton clocking in a time of 1:39.854.

A few drops of rain fell over the track, but most of the field opted to put on the softer compounds and it was Rio Haryanto’s time to shine: the Indonesian driver managed to set a blazing laptime of 1:39.129, three tenths quicker than last year’s pole position. Haryanto’s teammate Rossi went out on track for another attempt at topping the timesheet but ended a hairsbreadth away from the Indonesian. In the final stages, Julian Leal edged Raffaele Marciello out of third. Behind the Italian, Palmer, Evans, Vandoorne, Stéphane Richelmi, Rene Binder and Kimiya Sato rounded out the top ten.

After the lunch break, the temperatures rose and Daniiel De Jong was the early pace setter. He remained top for most of the session as drivers focused on race simulations and pitstop practices. With one hour left on the clock, Daniel Abt went quickest on Hard compounds, but De Jong on Soft Pirelli tyres soon improved on the German’s laptime and regained control of the timesheet.

In the closing stages, laptimes started to tumble down and the fight for the top spot saw Jon Lancaster, Vittorio Ghirelli and Johnny Cecotto successively hit the front, but at the chequered flag, De Jong reclaimed P1 with a 1:40.508, two tenths quicker than Cecotto (also on Soft compounds). Leal was able to find some extra pace on Hard Pirelli tyres to move up to third in the dying minutes ahead of Ghirelli, Lancaster, Simon Trummer, Facu Regalia, Abt, Felipe Nasr and Arthur Pic.


GP2 Series test, Bahrain International Circuit - Day 2 (morning)

1Rio HaryantoEQ8 Caterham Racing1:39.12932
2Alexander RossiEQ8 Caterham Racing1:39.17331
3Julian LealCarlin1:39.53822
4Raffaele MarcielloRacing Engineering1:39.70433
5Jolyon PalmerDAMS1:39.85431
6Mitch EvansRT RUSSIA TIME1:39.87015
7Stoffel VandoorneART Grand Prix1:39.91332
8Stephane RichelmiDAMS1:40.04529
9Rene BinderArden International1:40.12615
10Kimiya SatoCampos Racing1:40.15425
11Nathanael BerthonVenezuela GP Lazarus1:40.19018
12Artem MarkelovRT RUSSIAN TIME1:40.19118
13Conor DalyVenezuela GP Lazarus1:40.23310
14Adrian Quaife-HobbsRapax1:40.25019
15Andre NegraoArden International1:40.31419
16Takuya IzawaART Grand Prix1:40.67830
17Felipe NasrCarlin1:40.78626
18Arthur PicCampos Racing1:40.84024
19Johnny CecottoTrident1:40.84215
20Vittorio GhirelliTrident1:40.99125
21Daniiel de JongMP Motorsport1:41.04110
22Stefano ColettiRacing Engineering1:41.10622
23Jon LancasterMP Motorsport1:41.16640
24Simon TrummerRapax1:41.58629
25Facu RegaliaHilmer Motorsport1:43.74839
26Daniel AbtHilmer Motorsport1:43.79630

GP2 Series test, Bahrain International Circuit - Day 2 (afternoon)

1Daniiel de JongMP Motorsport1:40.50819
2Johnny CecottoTrident1:40.77919
3Julian LealCarlin1:40.88221
4Vittorio GhirelliTrident1:41.23514
5Jon LancasterMP Motorsport1:41.27717
6Simon TrummerRapax1:41.43629
7Facu RegaliaHilmer Motorsport1:41.47625
8Daniel AbtHilmer Motorsport1:41.74610
9Felipe NasrCarlin1:41.99824
10Arthur PicCampos Racing1:42.35438
11Rene BinderArden International1:42.39331
12André NegraoArdent International1:43.00729
13Mitch EvansRT RUSSIAN TIME1:43.83927
14Artem MarkelovRT RUSSIAN TIME1:43.87726
15Jolyon PalmerDAMS1:43.91032
16Nathanaël BerthonVenezuela GP Lazarus1:43.17932
17Conor DalyVenezuela GP Lazarus1:44.27631
18Stéphane RichelmiDAMS1:44.38124
19Stoffel VandoorneART Grand Prix1:44.45846
20Raffaele MarcielloRacing Engineering1:44.63217
21Stefano ColettiRacing Engineering1:44.81826
22Takuya IzawaART Grand Prix1:44.89546
23Adrian Quaife-HobbsRapax1:45.15138
24Alexander RossiEQ8 Caterham Racing1:45.24033
25Kimiya SatoCampos Racing1:45.34833
26Rio HaryantoEQ8 Caterham Racing1:45.44335
Share Button