GT4 European Series
PROsport Performance claims 1-2

PROsport Performance claims 1-2

Nicolaj Møller-Madsen and Jörg Viebahn gave PROsport Performance its first victory of the season in the second GT4 European Series Northern Cup race at Misano. Their Porsche Cayman CS MR GT4 took the lead on the final lap of the race, as the RYS Team InterNetX KTM X-Bow GT4 was disqualified for passing the safety car.

Jörg Viebahn started from fourth on the grid and moved up into second place on the first lap, behind his team mate Alessio Picariello. However he was unable to keep Academy Motorsport driver William Moore and RYS Team Kiska’s Jonathan Cecotto behind him and soon Moore was fighting with Picariello for the lead.

The PROsport Performance Porsche Clubsport kept the Academy Motorsport Aston Martin Vantage GT4 behind until the pit stops. Picariello was the last of the frontrunners to make his mandatory stop and team mate Kevin Rossel returned to the track with a small lead over the RYS Team InterNetX KTM X-Bow GT4 of Jamie Vandenbalck.

Five minutes after the pit window closed Vandenbalck passed Rossel, who lost another position to Matt Nicoll-Jones. Møller-Madsen was closing in rapidly and with just over 11 minutes remaining he passed Rossel to take third place.

A collision between Nicoll-Jones and Scuderia Villorba Corse driver Manuela Gostner prompted a safety car and handed Møller-Madsen second place. Race leader Vandenbalck had to line up behind the safety car, but the young Belgian overtook the safety car and was shown the black flag.

With one lap remaining the race was resumed and Møller-Madsen took the lead, followed by team mate Rossel in second and Ricardo van der Ende in the Ekris Motorsport Ekris M4 GT4 in third. RN Vision STS driver Pavel Lefterov tried to pass Van der Ende on the last lap, but the Dutchman kept his Ekris in front of the Porsche to claim the team’s second podium finish of the weekend.

In GT4 AM, Wolfgang Riesch and Peter Ebner handed HP Racing its first ever GT4 European Series victory. The Porsche Cayman CS MR GT4 finished 55.384s clear of the Autorlando Sport Porsche 911 GT4 of Dario Cerati and Maurizio Fondi, with Antoni and Piotr Chodzen taking third place on the final lap with their Scuderia Villorba Corse Maserati GranTurismo MC GT4.

Share Button