GP2 Series
Palmer claims first pole position
Photo Credit: © GP2 Media Services - Sam Bloxham/LAT Photographic

Palmer claims first pole position

Jolyon Palmer claimed the first pole position of the GP2 season at Sakhir. Briton set the fastest time of 1:38.865 in a tricky session that saw a red flag period as the newcomer Artem Markelov span on cold tyres at Turn 1 and stopped on track.

Rookie Stoffel Vandoorne finished second, just three hundredths slower than Palmer, but one tenth quicker than Daniel Abt in third place.

The qualifying session opened under the lights of the Bahrain International Circuit and on a much cleaner track compared to this morning’s free practice session. The twenty-six drivers fed onto the track on Pirelli Soft tyres. Felipe Nasr set the early pace. Vandoorne was on a flyer when he went too wide in Turn 14, but still managed to go top. However, Mitch Evans went even quicker and bettered the Belgian’s time by six thousandths.

On the ten minute mark, Abt found some extra pace to clock in a laptime of 1:39.073 and claimed the top spot. Vandoorne improved on his personal best, but had to settle for P2, one tenth slower than the German. At mid-session, all drivers returned to the pits for a set of fresh rubber. As the action resumed on track, Markelov brought out the red flag.

At the re-start, and with seven minutes left on the clock, the drivers re-joined the track for one last attempt. Palmer put his head down and dipped under 1:38. Vandoorne also broke that barrier but was unable to beat the Briton’s laptime. Behind this pair, Abt had to settle for third. Stéphane Richelmi, Rio Haryanto, Stefano Coletti, Evans, Nasr, rookies Raffaele Marciello and Arthur Pic completed the top ten.


GP2 Series - Sakhir 4th April 2014 - Qualifying

1Jolyon PalmerDAMS1:38.86510
2Stoffel VandoorneART Grand Prix1:38.89510
3Daniel AbtHilmer Motorsport1:39.07310
4Stéphane RichelmiDAMS1:39.08110
5Rio HaryantoEQ8 Caterham Racing1:39.22811
6Stefano ColettiRacing Engineering1:39.27111
7Mitch EvansRT RUSSIAN TIME1:39.2749
8Felipe NasrCarlin1:39.30110
9Raffaele MarcielloRacing Engineering1:39.44910
10Arthur PicCampos Racing1:39.46210
11Jon LancasterMP Motorsport1:39.50710
12Julian LealCarlin1:39.58812
13Johnny CecottoTrident1:39.61510
14André NegraoArden International1:39.64710
15Alexander RossiEQ8 Caterham Racing1:39.65110
16Kimiya SatoCampos Racing1:39.74911
17Rene BinderArden International1:39.7889
18Conor DalyVenezuela GP Lazarus1:39.84810
19Facu RegaliaHilmer Motorsport1:39.88112
20Nathanaël BerthonVenezuela GP Lazarus1:39.9288
21Simon TrummerRapax1:40.05911
22Daniiel De JongMP Motorsport1:40.06010
23Takuya IzawaART Grand Prix1:40.40111
24Adrian Quaife-HobbsRapax1:40.40810
25Axcil JefferiesTrident1:40.61911
26Artem MarkelovRT RUSSIAN TIME1:41.1725
Share Button