Muller takes pole after penalties
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Muller takes pole after penalties

Sébastien Loeb and José María López set the two fastest laps in today’s qualifying at Paul Ricard, but Frenchmed missed to score his first WTCC pole position as the FIA Technical Delegate tested the automatic fuel cut-off system on all the five cars that took part in Q3. This test failed on the Citroën C-Elysée cars of Loeb and López. Consequently, the Stewards of the Meeting decided to disallow all lap times set by the two drivers who will be demoted to the back of the starting grids of both tomorrow’s races.

This will place Yvan Muller and Gabriele Tarquini on the front row of the starting grid for Race 1, while Mehdi Bennani and René Münnich will share the front row of the top-ten reverse grid for Race 2. Tarquini pipped Hugo Valente to secure fourth position, while Norbert Michelisz and Tom Chilton were the first two drivers who remained out of Q3. John Filippi provided the icing on the cake for the French fans, posting the fastest lap in the TC2T class.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 27:58.347 »
Race 2 José María López Citroën C-Elysee 30:24.551 »
Qualifying combined Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee - »
Qualifying 1 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 1:30.269 »
Qualifying 2 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 1:29.566 »
Qualifying 3 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 1:29.857 »
Free Practice 1 Sébastien Loeb Citroën C-Elysee 1:30.891 »
Free Practice 2 Hugo Valente Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:30.673 »
Share Button