Muller, Lopez share wins at Spa
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Muller, Lopez share wins at Spa

Citroën do not release their hold on the 2014 World Touring Car Championship as Yvan Muller and José Maria Lopez share the WTCC wins at Spa-Francorchamps last weekend.

Muller, López and Sébastien Loeb finished again 1-2-3 for the French factory in Race 1. Muller beat team mates Loeb and López to the La Source hairpin at the start and never quite looked back. The only change in position at the front came when López outbraked Loeb at the end of the straight on the final lap. With three Citroën cars filling the podium, Gianni Morbidelli led home the rest of the field ahead of Tom Coronel, who passed works Honda driver Thiago Monteiro on the finish line. Franz Engstler, as usual, won the TC2T class from John Filippi and newcomer Norbert Nagy.

The second race was just a bit tougher for them, as the Citroën drivers started from eighth, ninth and tenth on the reversed grid. However, López and Muller completed another great recovery to claim first and second, while Loeb had to settle in fifth as he could not pass Coronel and Monteiro who were classified in third and fourth. Engstler continued to reign on the TC2 class, with two new wins.

With the weekend’s results, López allowed Muller to recover only two points in the Drivers’ Championship and the Argentine still leads by 39. The championship will resume after a five-week break at Termas de Río Hondo, Argentina, on August 3, for rounds 15 and 16.


WTCC - Drivers' standings after round 7

1.LÓPEZ José María255
2.MULLER Yvan216
3.LOEB Sébastien190
4.MONTEIRO Tiago125
5.TARQUINI Gabriele105
9.MICHELISZ Norbert74
10.VALENTE Hugo53
11.BENNANI Mehdi51
12.MA Qing Hua33
13.BORKOVI_ Du_an17
14.HUFF Rob13
15.KOZLOVSKIY Mikhail11
16.ENGSTLER Franz6
17.FILIPPI John4
18.MÜNNICH René3
19.DI SABATINO Pasquale2
20.THOMPSON James2

WTCC - Team standings after round 7



  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 22:09.364 »
Race 2 José Maria Lopez Citroën C-Elysee 22:16.645 »
Qualifying combined Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 2:23.497 »
Qualifying 1 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 2:23.880 »
Qualifying 2 Josè Maria Lopez Citroën C-Elysee 2:23.204 »
Qualifying 3 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 2:23.497 »
Free Practice 1 Josè Maria Lopez Citroën C-Elysee 2:24.354 »
Free Practice 2 Josè Maria Lopez Citroën C-Elysee 2:24.561 »
Share Button