Formula 1
Massa fastest, Red Bull still faces problems
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Massa fastest, Red Bull still faces problems

Felipe Massa recorded the fastest time so far in the final pre season-test at the Sakhir circuit. Brazilian set 1:33.258 completing 99 laps in the Williams FW36 car. Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg ended second ahead of Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari), Rosberg’s programme included setup evaluation, long runs and qualifying simulations; running was delayed during the morning after overnight inspection of high-mileage components led to a precautionary engine change for the F1 W05. Raikkonen had to deal with a problem relating to a connector in the morning. In the afternoon session the Finn did some short runs as well as a race simulation, including some live practice pit stops.

Kevin Magnussen (McLaren) and rookie Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso) filled places fourth and fifth on the timesheet. Sahara Force India’s Niko Hulkenberg ended sixth completing 115 laps. Marcus Ericsson’s Caterham finished just behind Marussia of Jules Bianchi in the standings having clocked the eighth best time. Lotus of Romain Grosjean suffered an electrical issue and was ninth, while Suber’s Adrian Sutil managed just one lap before encountering an engine problem.

It was another difficult day for Sebastian Vettel and the Reb Bull team, as the Renault-powered RB10 encountered problems and failed to complete a single lap. After a positive second day at this week’s final test in Bahrain, Red Bull suffered another setback today, with reigning World Champion restricted to the garage for the bulk of the day.


Bahrain, March 1st 2014
1. Felipe Massa – Williams-Mercedes FW36 – 1:33.258, 99 laps
2. Nico Rosberg – Mercedes F1 W05 – 1:33.484, 103 laps
3. Kimi Raikkonen – Ferrari F14 T – 1:35.426, 87 laps
4. Kevin Magnussen – McLaren-Mercedes MP4-29 – 1:35.894, 88 laps
5. Daniil Kvyat – Toro Rosso-Renault STR9 – 1:36.113, 81 laps
6. Nico Hulkenberg – Sahara Force India-Mercedes VJM07 – 1:36.205, 115 laps
7. Jules Bianchi – Marussia-Ferrari MR03 – 1:37.087, 78 laps
8. Marcus Ericsson – Caterham-Renault CT05 – 1:38.083, 117 laps
9. Romain Grosjean – Lotus-Renault E22 – 1:42.166, 33 laps
10. Adrian Sutil – Sauber-Ferrari C33 – no time, 1 lap
11. Sebastian Vettel – Red Bull-Renault RB10 – no time, 0 laps

Share Button