GP3 Series
Lynn claimes pole position in Spielberg
Photo Credit: © GP2 Media Services - Sam Bloxham/LAT Photographic

Lynn claimes pole position in Spielberg

GP3 Series leader Alex Lynn has continued his success from Round 1 by taking pole position in Spielberg. The Brit ended up on top of the pack by 0.023 ahead of Alex Fontana (ART Grand Prix) and Dean Stoneman (Marussia Manor Racing).

The thirty minute shoot-out for pole position was run in cool temperatures but dry conditions with Richie Stanaway (Status Grand Prix) leading the way. After ten minutes it was Lynn at the head of the timesheet with Stoneman lapping just 0.026 shy off his fellow countryman. A few moments later Stoneman had an excursion into the gravel on his hot lap and was very lucky to avoid making contact with the barrier and was able continue with his session. At the midway point Lynn led Stoneman, Mathéo Tuscher, Marvin Kirchhöfer and Stanaway.

The drivers returned to the pits for a new set of Pirelli tyres for their next attempt to fight for the elusive pole position and the vital four points assigned to it. Kirchhöfer and Patrick Kujala (Marussia Manor Racing) both snuck up to P1, whilst Lynn on his best attempt to date was caught behind traffic and unable to improve. Kujala bettered his own time and held provisional pole for a short time as the times tumbled in the dying moments. Fontana grabbed P1 but Lynn was on a mission and set the fastest time of the session with a 1:20.585. At the chequered flag Lynn held the coveted pole whilst Stoneman and Fontana both achieved their best ever grid positions in the category.

Emil Bernstorff, Kujala, Jimmy Eriksson, Kirchhöfer, Stanaway, Nick Yelloly and Luis Sa Silva completed the top ten. All three Carlin drivers qualified in the first ten with a personal best qualifying for the Angolan driver Sa Silva. Newcomer Riccardo Agostini (Hilmer Motorsport) finished 11th.

Race 1 will commence at 17.20 local time today.


GP3 Series - Red Bull Ring - Qualifying

1Alex LynnCarlin1:20.58519
2Alex FontanaART Grand Prix0.02318
3Dean StonemanMarussia Manor Racing0.07917
4Emil BernstorffCarlin0.10819
5Patrick KujalaMarussia Manor Racing0.15918
6Jimmy ErikssonKoiranen GP0.21219
7Marvin KirchhöferART Grand Prix0.27817
8Richie StanawayStatus Grand Prix0.38916
9Nick YellolyStatus Grand Prix0.48616
10Luis Sa SilvaCarlin0.55718
11Riccardo AgostiniHilmer Motorsport0.56418
12Dino ZamparelliART Grand Prix0.58318
13Nelson MasonHilmer Motorsport0.60817
14Mathéo TuscherJenzer Motorsport0.64018
15Jann MardenboroughArden International0.64217
16Patric NiederhauserArden Internationa0.65118
17Robert VisoiuArden International0.72419
18Santiago UrrutiaKoiranen GP0.79717
19Roman De BeerTrident0.90617
20Alfonso Celis JrStatus Grand Prix1.00617
21Pal VarhaugJenzer Motorsport1.06918
22Adderly FongJenzer Motorsport1.32317
23Victor CarboneTrident1.54017
24Nikolay MartsenkoHilmer Motorsport1.58618
25Ryan CullenMarussia Manor Racing1.67417
26Carmen JordaKoiranen GP3.21717
Share Button