British F3
Lundvist crowned British F3 Champion
Photo Credit: Jakob Ebrey

Lundvist crowned British F3 Champion

Double R Racing’s Linus Lundqvist claimed the 2018 BRDC British F3 title. The 19-year-old Swede has been crowned Champion after taking is seventh victory of the season at Silverstone today.

Lundqvist moved from the pole position – his third of the year – to lead from start to the finish line. His only title rival Carlin’s Nicolai Kjaergaard retired on the first lap. That means the Double R Racing driver secured the title with two races still to run.

Lundqvist started his weekend in ideal fashion, with a stunning series of laps that put the Double R driver 0.387s clear of Carlin’s Billy Monger and Fortec’s Tom Gamble. Kjaergaard rescued fourth place at the end of the session, having been in the lower reaches of the top-10 for most of qualifying, and was within half a second of Lundqvist’s time.

Series returnee Clement Novalak claimed fifth for Carlin, just 0.013s ahead of Fortec’s Manuel Maldonado, with Chris Dittmann Racing’s Ayrton Simmons seventh. Double R’s Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Fortec’s Hampus Ericsson and Douglas Motorsport’s Jamie Chadwick completed the top-10.

Rain was falling hard at the start of the session, but eased off quickly, allowing conditions to improve throughout the 20 minute period, which culminated in a flurry of fast times.

At the race start, with his title rival Kjaergaard retiring on the first lap, Lundqvist needed only to finish on the podium, but converted his pole into one of the most dominant wins of the year by over three seconds, and also set fastest lap, potentially putting him in an ideal position for race three tomorrow afternoon.

Fortec’s Gamble claimed second after challenging Lundqvist on the first lap, while Monger took third having dropped to fourth on the first lap, before moving back into the podium positions on lap two. Maldonado claimed fourth, and hassled Monger throughout the latter stages of the race, with Simmons putting in a strong performance for Chris Dittmann Racing to take fifth. Mahadik was sixth, a quarter of a second clear of Hillspeed’s Jusuf Owega, while Ericsson took eighth, holding off a queue of cars for the duration of the race, with Chadwick and Sasakorn Chaimongkol completing the top-10.

It’s an unbelievable feeling. It’s just been an incredible year and I just want to start off by thanking my team, Double R Racing. They have been incredible all year and it’s been a ride since day one, considering when you look back all the way to round one at Oulton Park, it’s been a rollercoaster and I can’t believe I’m standing here saying I’m champion. It’s unbelievable, I’m just so happy and pretty emotional“, Lundqvist commented.


BRDC British F3 Championship standings after race 22 of 24
1. Linus Lundqvist, Double R Racing, 531
2. Nicolai Kjaergaard, Carlin, 446
3. Kush Maini, Lanan Racing, 356
4. Krishnaraaj Mahadik, Double R Racing, 353
5. Tom Gamble, Fortec Motorsports, 345
6. Billy Monger, Carlin, 299
7. Manuel Maldonado, Fortec Motorsports, 289
8. Jamie Chadwick, Douglas Motorsport, 252
9. Sasakorn Chaimongkol, Hillspeed, 233
10. Sun Yue Yang, Carlin, 229

Share Button