Lopez clinches pole at his home track
Photo Credit: © Media FIA WTCC

Lopez clinches pole at his home track

José María López clinched the pole position at his home track of Termas de Río Hondo, for the first round of the 2015 World Touring Car Championship. The Argentine reigning WTCC champion, led the other Citroën C-Elysée cars of Yvan Muller (who won the first WTCC Race of Argentina in 2013), Sébastien Loeb and Ma Qing Hua, with Tiago Monteiro fifth in the Honda Civic.

It feels great. It doesn’t matter how you finish the previous year because everybody is competing. But we’re at the track I know the most and the one I can give my 100 per cent at. It was difficult, very hot but it’s important to start the season like this and winning tomorrow would mean the world to me. – said López.

Tom Chilton was fastest in the Yokohama Drivers’ Trophy and finished sixth with his Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1. Gabriele Tarquini was seventh for Honda, while Stefano D’Aste set the eighth quickest lap on his WTCC return after a one-year absence, ahead of Tom Coronel.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 José María López Citroën C-Elysée 23:25.060 (13 laps) »
Race 2 Sébastien Loeb Citroën C-Elysée 29:33.508 (15 laps) »
Qualifying combined José María López Citroën C-Elysée - »
Qualifying 3 José María López Citroën C-Elysée 1:45.461 »
Qualifying 2 Ma Qing Hua Citroën C-Elysée 1:45.808 »
Qualifying 1 Rob Huff Lada Vesta 1:46.878 »
Share Button