Blancpain GT Series
Lamborghini claims first endurance win

Lamborghini claims first endurance win

The Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracán GT3 of Mirko Bortolotti, Andrea Caldarelli and Christian Engelhart won the first endurance race of the 2017 Blancpain GT Series at Monza with an impressive 29-second lead over the Spirit of Race Ferrari 488 GT3 that polesitter Alessandro Pier Guidi shared with Pasin Lathouras and Michele Rugolo.

After the ISR Audi R8 LMS of Clemens Schmid, Frank Stippler and Filip Salaquarda suffered the left rear tyre puncture with six minutes to finish, the Team HTP Motorsport Mercedes-AMG of Frank Perera, Maxi Buhk and Jimmy Eriksson moved up to third.

Some drama was at the start, when a contact before the first chicane caused the Ezequiel Perez Companc‘s Lamborghini to spin. 16 cars were involved in the crash and the race were red flagged. The stewards found Bentley Team M-Sport Continental GT3 of Guy Smith responsible for the crash and the car was given a 15 second stop&go penalty. As the Briton did not serve that time penalty during three laps, he was stopped with the black flag.

Spirit of Race Ferrari missed the podium when Davide Rigon had to serve a drive-through for overtaking under yellow.

In the Pro-Am class Oman Racing Team with TF Sport Aston Martin took the win after a majestic final stint of Jonny Adam who teamed up with Ahmad Al Harthy.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Bortolotti-Caldarelli-Engelhart GRT (Lamborghini Huracán GT3) 3h24:15.027 »
Qualifying Alessandro Pier Guidi AF Corse (Ferrari 488 GT3) 1:47.423 »
Share Button