Auto GP
Kimiya Sato clinches 2014 title
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Kimiya Sato clinches 2014 title

Kimiya Sato is the new Auto GP Champion. The Japanese driver, fielded by Euronova Racing team, took the third place in Race 2 at the Nürburgring and clinched the 2014 title after leading the way from the early stages of the season. After ending the 2013 championship as a runner-up, Sato scored six wins, seven fastest laps, one pole positions and 10 podium finishes out of the 12 races he entered this year.

The race win went to Hungarian Tamas Pal Kiss (Virtuosi UK) who cruised to the front despite starting from row 3. At the first corner, he was already in second and took the lead on lap 2 from Super Nova International‘s polesitter Francesco Dracone, who spun while battling with team-mate Markus Pommer. Dracone was later penalized with a drive-through for jumping the start.

At his home race, Pommer took second place by holding off Sato, who started from 8th following to his Race 1 win, while Andrea Roda managed to get by Michela Cerruti for fourth right after the pit-stop. Kevin Giovesi was prevented from fighting for the podium and had to fend off the attacks of Yoshitaka Kuroda after opting for a late pit-stop on lap 19. The points zone was completed by Italians Michele La Rosa, Giuseppe Cipriani and Dracone.

The next and final round of the 2014 Auto GP is scheduled for the next 19th of October at Estoril. At the Portuguese track, the Enzo Coloni-promoted championship will deliver their plans for the coming seasons.



1Kimiya Sato221
2Tamas Pal Kiss170
3Markus Pommer157
4Andrea Roda153
5Kevin Giovesi151
6Michela Cerruti113
7Michele La Rosa63
8Sam Dejonghe41
9Giuseppe Cipriani38
10Yoshitaka Kuroda36
11Francesco Dracone27
12Shinya Michimi26
13Vittorio Ghirelli26
14Pal Varhaug24
15Loris Spinelli19
16Christof von Grunigen18
17Salvatore De Plano7
18Samin Gomez2
19Sergio Campana1
20Niccolò Schirò0
21Richard Gonda0


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Kimiya Sato Euronova Racing 37:06.445 »
Race 2 Tamas Pal Kiss Virtuosi UK 31:22.578 »
Qualifying Markus Pommer Super Nova International 1:37.288 »
Free Practice Kevin Giovesi FMS Racing 1:32.486 »
Share Button