Honda announced its 2014 strategy

Honda announced its 2014 strategy

Honda Motor announced today its 2014 motorsports strategy and initiatives.

In the WTCC, after having won four raced and the manufacturer’s title last year, Castrol Honda World Touring Car Team will again feature Gabriele Tarquini and Tiago Monteiro. In addition private teams Proteam Racing (Mehdi Bennani) and Zengo Motorsport (Norbert Michelisz) will also be supplied with the Civics.

In the GP2 Series Takuya Izawa, 29, will compete for ART Grand Prix. Izawa demonstrated great performance last season in the Japanese Super GT (10th in GT500 class) and Super Formula series (7th). His participation in the GP2 Series is a part of a Honda project for turning out more Japanese F1 drivers.

In the Super GT series Honda will compete with its five teams and five machines in the GT500 class with its Nsx Concept-GT equipped with a 2.0 liter inline 4-cylinder direct injection turbo engine and a racing hybrid system. In the GT300 class, Honda will continue to support two teams, supplying them with the racing hybrid system CR-Z GT. The line-up for the GT500 class is Autobacs Racing Team Auguri (former F1 Vitantonio Liuzzi-Kosuke Matsuura), Epson Nakajima Racing (Bertrand Baguette-Daisuke Nakajima), Keihin Real Racing (Toshihiro Kaneishi-Koudai Tsukakoshi), Team Kunimutsu (Takashi Kogure-Hideki Mutoh), Weider Modulo Dome Racing (Naoki Yamamoto-Jean Karl Vernay). Team Mugen (Yuhki Nakayama-Tomoki Nojiri) and Autobacs Racing Team Aguri (Takashi Kobayashi-Shinichi Takagi) will compete in GT300 class.

In the Japanese Super Formula series, where it captured the drivers’championship last season, Honda now aims for the dual titles of drivers’ and team championships and will race a 2.0 liters inline 4-cylinder direct injection turbo engine meeting the new regulations. The teams are: Decomo Team Dandelion Racing (Hideki Mutoh, Tomoki Nojiri), HP Real Racing (Vitantonio Liuzzi, Koudai Tsukakoshi), Nakajima Racing (Takashi Kogure, Daisuke Nakajima) Team Mugen (Yuhki Nakayama, Naoki Yamamoto).

In the IndyCar Series, Takuma Sato became the first Japanese driver ever to win a race last year. Now in his fifth season, he will again compete for A.J. Foyt Racing.

Honda will also support three drivers in the Japanese F3 Championship: Shota Kiyohara (Toda Racing), Nobuharu Matsushita and Tsubasa Takahashi (HFDP Racing).

In the British Touring Car Championship, Honda Yuasa Racing Team will line-up two Honda Civic for 2013 runner-up Gordon Shedden and Matt Neal. Johnny Mowlem will drive a Woodard Racing Organization’s HPD ARX-03b LMP2 car in the European Le Mans Series.

For the Formula One, which Honda will rejoin in the 2015 season, the company is making steady progress in developing the power unit. At Honda’s European base for F1 activity in Milton Keynes, U.K., installation of the dynamo and assembly facilities will be completed in June 2014 to further reinforce the already solid setup in preparation for racing.

Share Button