24H Endurance Series
Herberth Motorsport dominate at Monza

Herberth Motorsport dominate at Monza

Team Herberth Motorsport has secured a 1-2-3 finish at the 12H Monza. The longest endurance event ever to be held at ‘the temple of speed’ was red-flagged on Saturday afternoon when a severe rain storm made track conditions treacherous. More drama was to follow though. Heading into the final 10 minutes, and having only just passed its sister entry on-track for the overall lead, the race leading Porsche 911 GT3 R of Daniel Allemann, Ralf Bohn, Alfred and Robert Renauer ground to a halt at the Variante Ascari.

The new leader – the #92 car of Jürgen Häring, Taki Konstantinou and Alfred Renauer – wasn’t out of the woods though, and had to hold off the incredibly fast-charging #93 entry Steffen Görig, Stefan Aust and Klaus Bachler, with the last one pulling 10 seconds out of the lead with every passing lap and setting the event’s two fastest laps in the process. At the chequered flag, and after an incredible nail-biting finish, the top two Herberth Motorsport Porsches were split by less than half a minute after 12 hours of endurance racing.

Häring eventually drove the #92 over the line to complete 285 laps and secure the car’s second consecutive victory. After two rounds, Herberth Motorsport now holds a seven-point advantage in the 24H Series Europe Overall GT Teams’ standings over nearest rival, Speed Lover.

The MP Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo of Giorgio Sernagiotto, Thomas, David, Corinna and Manuela Gostner completed a successful debut with 4th overall. The Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo of Johannes Kirchhoff, Elmar Grimm and Max Edelhoff finished just two laps adrift in 5th, the reigning A6 Teams’ champion having opted to serve a 10-lap penalty and work on the Audi’s troublesome electronics in parc ferme on Friday night.

The Reiter Engineering KTM GTX Concept driven by Stefan Rosina, Laura Kraihamer and Eike Angermayr, which led the Hankook 12H Monza outright heading into the overnight intervention, lost what looked to be certain class victory in GTX after myriad electrical problems cost the German team almost an hour in the pits. The win instead went to the ARC Bratislava Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo of Mato Homola, Mato and Miro Konopka, which recovered from its own early electrical problems to finish 6thoverall.

A strong recovery drive meant the Reiter Engineering KTM eventually finished 3rd in-class, just three laps behind the JR Motorsport BMW M3 F80 of Ted van Vliet and Ruud Olij.

The Speed Lover Porsche 991-II Cup shared by Dominique Bastien and Gavin Pickering took a commanding victory in the 991 class.

The race’s only GT4 entry – the MDM Motorsport BMW M4 GT4 of Dutch crew Jan Jaap van Roon, Tim and Tom Coronel, secured its first category win of the season, despite suffering a front left puncture during the final hour of the race.

The Equipe Verschuur Renault RS01 of Harrie Kolen, Erik van Loon and Mike Verschuur had led comfortably during the opening 16 laps, but was unable to continue after suffering engine failure. Another podium contender, the Wochenspiegel Team Monschau Ferrari 488 GT3 of Georg Weiss, Leonard Weiss, Jochen Krumbach and Hendrik Still, also retired from the event with excessive damage following three separate punctures.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race (part 2) Häring/Konstantinou/Renauer Herbert Motorsport / Porsche 911 GT3 R 8:00:51.394 / 285 laps »
Race (after 4 hours) Angermayr/Kraihamer/Rosina KTM GTX / Reiter Engineering 4:00:18.675 / 116 laps »
Qualifying Kolen/van Loon/Verschuur Renault RS01 / Equipe V erschuur 1:48.821 »
Share Button