Formula 1
Hamilton scores second pole in a row
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Hamilton scores second pole in a row

Lewis Hamilton scored his second pole in a row in a rain-delayed qualifying session. Briton set the fastest time for Mercedes lapping 1:59.431, 0.055 faster than Sebastian Vettel who finished second. Nico Rosberg qualified in third position, also for the second time in two races, after struggling on the full wet tyre at the end of Q3. Austrialian Grand Prix winner edget out Ferrari’s Alonso. Fernando had a worrying start to Q2, when Daniil Kvyat (11th) dived inside him in the Toro Rosso. The inevitable collision left the Spaniard’s F14 T with broken steering on the left corner, but the Scuderia mechanics did a brilliant job of changing the components and getting him out again to fight back into Q3.

Red Bull had definitely a big chance in the wet as Daniel Ricciardo was fourth ahead of Kimi Raikkonen. The Finn said he had poor traction and on top of that, with the Extreme Wet, he lost grip after the first lap. Niko Hulkenberg qualified his Force India in P7.

McLaren’s Kevin Magnussen was eight. The Dane was not satisfied. He went off near the end of Q2 and the trip into the gravel caused some damage to the floor. His team mate Jenson Button rounded out the top 10 and finished behind the other Toro Rosso of Jean-Eric Vergne.


Malaysian Grand Prix, 29th March - Qualifying

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes F1 W051:59.4310.000
2Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault RB101:59.486+0.055
3Nico RosbergMercedes F1 W052:00.050+0.619
4Fernando AlonsoFerrari F14 T2:00.175+0.744
5Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-Renault RB102:00.541+1.110
6Kimi RaikkonenFerrari F14 T2:01.218+1.787
7Nico HulkenbergSahara Force India-Mercedes VJM072:01.712+2.281
8Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes MP4-292:02.213+2.782
9Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso-Renault STR92:03.078+3.647
10Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes MP4-292:04.053+4.622
11Daniil KvyatToro Rosso-Renault STR92:02.351+3.310
12Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari C332:02.369+3.328
13Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes FW362:02.460+3.419
14Sergio PerezSahara Force India-Mercedes VJM072:02.511+3.470
15Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes FW362:02.756+3.715
16Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault E222:02.885+3.844
17Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault E222:02.074+4.891
18Adrian SutilSauber-Ferrari C332:02.131+4.948
19Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari MR032:02.702+5.519
20Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault CT052:03.595+6.412
21Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari MR032:04.388+7.205
22Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault CT052:04.407+7.224


Share Button