Formula 1
Hamilton, Rosberg secure Mercedes one-two
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Hamilton, Rosberg secure Mercedes one-two

Lewis Hamilton claimed is 23rd victory as he dominated Malaysian Gran Prix. Briton took a lights-to-flag victory, with Nico Rosberg completing the first one-two finish for the Mercedes Silver Arrows since Juan Manuel Fangio and Piero Taruffi at the 1955 Italian Grand Prix.

Hamilton stopped on laps 15 and 33 for medium tyres, switching to the hard compound at his final stop on lap 51 and set the fastest time on lap 52, taking the chequered flag with an advantage of 17 seconds. Finishing in second place, Nico achieved his 13th Formula One career podium and followed the same tyre strategy as Lewis, stopping on laps 14, 32 and 50.

I’m incredibly happy today. – commented Hamilton – This is my first win in Malaysia after eight attempts and to do it for our Petronas family in their home country makes it even more special. It’s all down to the team. They have done a fantastic job and I have to say a huge thank you to everyone here at the track and back at our factories who have been pushing non-stop to get the car where it is… One-two finishes don´t happen very often and this is a real achievement for the team. Finally, I would like to offer this victory in tribute to all those affected by the tragedy of MH370. A special mention also goes to my step-mum Linda for her 50th birthday tomorrow!

Sebastian Vettel took his first 2014 podium. German finished third, 24.5s behind Hamilton. The Red Bull driver challenged Rosberg very closely on one occasion and got within a second around the 34-lap mark, but eventually dropped back. Vettel said they still have a lot of work to do, but considering where they were, not even two months ago, this weekend was a massive step in the right direction. Daniel Ricciardo had a very good start from 5th and made up a couple of positions after a wheel-to-wheel battle with his team mate. Australian dropped back at his final stop, when the left front wheel on his RB10 was improperly secured and then a kerb damaged his front wing and led to a problem with the right front tyre.

Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) brought home the points for fourth place, thanks to a gritty second half performance that saw him close on those ahead, taking fourth place off Nico Hulkenberg in the Force India just four laps from the flag.

Kimi Raikkonen was very unlucky, as he was clipped at turn 1 in the opening laps by Kevin Magnussen’s McLaren, suffering a right rear puncture. The Finn had to do a whole lap at snail’s pace to get back to the pits, before rejoining in penultimate place. He fought hard, dueling with Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso) and Romain Grosjean (Lotus) for a points finish, but it was not to be as he ended twelfth. The resultant contact shattered Magnussen’s left-hand-side front-wing end-plate, losing him downforce during his first stint as the Dane finished ninth.

Jenson Button was sixth, after keeping Felipe Massa’s Williams at bay. The Brazilian battled with his team mate Valtteri Bottas who took the eighth place. Rookie Kvyat scored points again and finished tenth.

The other Force India of Sergio Perez failed to start the race after suffering a series of issues, which caused the car to get stuck in gear on the way to the grid.


Malaysian Grand Prix, 30th March - Race

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes F1 W05560:000
2Nico RosbergMercedes F1 W0556+17.3
3Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault RB1056+24.5
4Fernando AlonsoFerrari F14 T56+35.9
5Nico HulkenbergSahara Force India-Mercedes VJM0756+47.1
6Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes MP4-2956+83.6
7Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes FW3656+85.0
8Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes FW3656+85.5
9Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes MP4-2955+1 lap
10Daniil KvyatToro Rosso-Renault STR955+1 lap
11Romain GrosjeanLotus-Renault E2255+1 lap
12Kimi RaikkonenFerrari F14 T55+1 lap
13Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault CT0555+1 lap
14Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault CT0554+2 laps
15Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari MR0354+2 laps
RetDaniel RicciardoRed Bull-Renault RB1049+7 laps
RetEsteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari C3335+21 laps
RetAdrian SutilSauber-Ferrari C3332+24 laps
RetJean-Eric VergneToro Rosso-Renault STR918+38 laps
RetJules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari MR038+48 laps
RetPastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault E227+49 laps
RetSergio PerezSahara Force India-Mercedes VJM070+56 laps

Drivers' Championship

1Nico RosbergMercedes43
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes25
3Fernando AlondoFerrari24
4Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes23
5Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes20
6Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes18
7Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault15
8Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes14
9Kimi RaikkonenFerrari6
10Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes6
11Jean-Eric VergeSTR-Renault4
12Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault3


5Force India-Mercedes19
6Red Bull Racing-Renault15
Share Button