Formula 1
Hamilton dominates Chinese GP
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Hamilton dominates Chinese GP

Lewis Hamilton dominated 2014 Chinese Grand Prix as the Mercedes team secured a one-two finish with Nico Rosberg in second. After scoring the 34th pole position of his career on Saturday qualifying, Briton clinched a third consecutive victory leading from start to finish. Lewis achieved the milestone of 25 career wins, equalling Niki Lauda and Jim Clark. Nico started from fourth place and drove a composed race after a complete failure of the team’s telemetry system left his engineers without data throughout the race.

Fernando Alonso finished third and claimed the first podium of the season for Scuderia Ferrari which comes as a great relief after the very difficult race in Bahrain. Spaniard took his place after attacking all the way from the start, where he had his most worrying moment colliding with the Williams of former team-mate Felipe Massa. Nevertheless he could continue and ended the race in front of Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo. Australian lost two places at the start, but was able to recover and finished ahead of his team mate Seabastian Vettel.

Sahara Force India continued its strong points-scoring form as Nico Hulkenberg finished in sixth place and Sergio Perez in ninth. Valtteri Bottas finished seventh for Williams. Kimi Raikkonen had a more difficult time, as he is still not feeling totally comfortable at the wheel. The Finn got away well making up a place to sit in the points positions right from the opening lap, but in the end, he could do no better than eighth.

Daniil Kvyat rounded out the top 10 in the Toro Rosso-Renault scoring another point. The Russian fought with team mate Jean-Eric Vergne and the two McLarens of Jenson Button and Kevin Magnussen, whose lack of downforce really hurt them this weekend.



Chinese Grand Prix, 20th April - Race

1Lewis HamiltonMercedes F1 W051h36:52.810
2Nico RosbergMercedes F1 W05+18.686
3Fernando AlonsoFerrari F14 T+25.765
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull-Renault RB10+26.978
5Sebastian VettelRed Bull-Renault RB10+51.012
6Nico HulkenbergSahata Force India-Mercedes VJM07+57.581
7Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes FW36+58.145
8Kimi RaikkonenFerrari F14 T+1:23.990
9Sergio PerezSahara Force India-Mercedes VJM07+1:26.489
10Daniil KvyatToro Rosso-Renault STR9+1 lap
11Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes MP4-29+1 lap
12Jean-Eric VergneToro Rosso-Renault STR9+1 lap
13Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes MP4-29+1 lap
14Pastor MaldonadoLotus-Renault E22+1 lap
15Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes FW36+1 lap
16Esteban GutierrezSauber-Ferrari C33+1 lap
17Kamui KobayashiCaterham-Renault CT05+1 lap
18Jules BianchiMarussia-Ferrari MR03+1 lap
19Max ChiltonMarussia-Ferrari MR03+2 laps
20Marcus EricssonCaterham-Renault CT05+2 laps
RetRomain GrosjeanLotus-Renault E22+29 laps
RetAdrian SutilSauber-Ferrari C33+52 laps

Drivers' Championship

1Nico RosbergMercedes79
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes75
3Fernando AlonsoFerrari41
4Nico HulkenbergForce India-Mercedes36
5Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing-Renault33
6Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing-Renault24
7Valtteri BottasWilliams-Mercedes24
8Jenson ButtonMcLaren-Mercedes23
9Kevin MagnussenMcLaren-Mercedes20
10Sergio PerezForce India-Mercedes18
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes12
12Kimi RaikkonenFerrari11
13Jean-Eric VergneSTR-Renault4
14Daniil KvyatSTR-Renault4
Share Button