24H Dubai
GPX Racing dominates 24H Dubai
Photo Credit: Creventic

GPX Racing dominates 24H Dubai

The GPX Racing Porsche 991 GT3 R driven by Julien AndlauerAxcil Jefferies, Frederic Fatien, Alain Ferté and Mathieu Jaminet secured the victory in the 24H Dubai completing 600 laps of the 5.39km circuit located in UAE and becoming the first Emirati team to take an outright win in this race since Abu Dhabi Racing by Black Falcon pulled the double in 2012 and 2013. The result also secures Porsche a record-extending sixth win at the event.

It’s fantastic and I’m so happy for the team,” Axcil Jefferies said. “The guys worked so hard this whole week – they rebuilt the car two or three times – and they believed in us, so it’s great to reward them. And of course all the drivers did an amazing job. We pushed early on to build up a gap and then went into safety management mode in the last two hours to make sure we could bring the car home.

In a dramatic moment, the 2016 Hankook 24H Dubai winner WRT, managed to leapfrog into second place inside the final hour. The Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo ofFrank BirdBenjamin GoetheLouis MachielsKelvin van der Linde and Dries Vanthoor was closing in on the runner’s up spot in the closing stages when the HRT Bilstein Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo was brought into the pits for a driver change with just 40 minutes left on the clock. The Audi and the Mercedes were split by less than 30 seconds at the flag.

Third place for HRT Bilstein nevertheless secures three-time event winners Hubert Haupt – the team owner – and the UAE’s Khaled Al Qubaisi their sixth and fifth outright podium finishes at the Hankook 24H DUBAI respectively.

The GRT Grasser Racing Team Lamborghini Huracán GT3 Evo shared by Adrian Amstutz, Rik BreukersRolf Ineichen and factory driver Mirko Bortolotti was another frontrunner throughout the 24-hour event, finished a solid fourth overall just ahead of the second HRT Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo (Khaled Al Qubaisi / Valentin Pierburg / Florian Scholze / Nico Bastian / Patrick Assenheimer). The latter simultaneously secured GT3-AM victory ahead of nearest category rival Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo (Johannes Dr. Kirchhof / Gustav Edelhoff / Elmar Grimm / Max Edelhoff), which finished sixth overall on the road.

Behind the Racetivity Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo (François Perrodo / Charles-Henri Samani / Emmanuel Collard / Matthieu Vaxiviere), the second Car Collection Motorsport Audi R8 LMS GT3 Evo (Milan Dontje / Kim Holmgaard / Martin Lechmann / Tim Müller / Johannes Stengel), which won the Hankook 24H Dubai outright in 2019, finished eight overall and completes the GT3-AM podium. A superb recovery for the German team, which was unable to participate in Thursday’s qualifying session at all owing to pre-session suspension failure.

Despite making early contact with one of the Porsche Cup cars, the MP Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 Evo (Henk de Jong / Daniel de Jong / Bert de Heus / Jaap van Lagen) recovered to finish ninth. Tenth position for Inception Racing by Optimum McLaren 720S GT3 (Brendan Iribe / Ollie Millroy / Nick Moss / Joe Osborne) equals the best result yet for a McLaren at the Hankook 24H Dubai, Lapidus Racing having also finished 10th in 2013 with its MP4-12C.

Share Button