Nascar Whelen Euro Series
Gabillon dominates at Tours
Photo Credit: NASCAR Whelen Euro Series

Gabillon dominates at Tours

Frederic Gabillon was unstoppable on Saturday in the first ELITE 1 round 7 of the Oval World Challenge at Tours Speedway. After winning the first Semi Final, the Tepac RDV Compétition driver went on to lead every lap to grab his second win of the season and the 11th of his career, moving to third in the all-time winners list.

2017 NASCAR Whelen Euro Series champion Alon Day ended up second after qualifying fifth with the CAAL Racing Toyota Camry.

It is very special for me to win in my home country”, said Gabillon,“The car was fantastic. The race was very hard because of some caution and and the high temperature inside the car. I thank my RDV Competition team for doing a fantastic job. I am looking forward to the race tomorrow and I will give my best to win again here at Tours Speedway and enter the playoffs in first place.

It was a pretty good race considering where we came from”, commented Day, “We know that we are not super good on ovals but qualifying fifth and finishing second is very good for us. I’m thinking more about the playoffs and trying just to survive here. I will try to get as many points as I can. The car is in one piece and that is the most important thing.

Rookie racer Loris Hezemans (Hendriks Motorsport Ford Mustang) won the Junior Trophy by finishing third ahead of Stienes Longin (PK Carsport Chevrolet SS), who led the second Semi Final and tried the outside lane in restart several times in the Final. Alex Sedgwick (Braxx Racing Ford Mustang) scored another solid result by finishing fifth overall and second in the Junior Trophy.

Lucas Lasserre (Mavi Mishumotors Chevrolet SS) ended up sixth ahead of Thomas Ferrando (Knauf Racing Team Ford Mustang), who rounded out the Junior Trophy podium after coming from a lap down thanks to clever choices on restart. His teammate Wilfried Boucenna (Knauf Racing Team Ford Mustang) was eighth, edging Alexander Graff (Memphis Racing Chevrolet Camaro) and Gianmarco Ercoli (Racers Motorsport Ford Mustang), who closed the top 10.

Dario Caso (Racers Motorsport Ford Mustang) won the Legend Trophy ahead of Mauro Trione (Race Art Technology-Blu Motorsport Chevrolet Camaro) and Kenko Miura (Alex Caffi Motorsport Toyota Camry).

Disaster struck for Anthony Kumpen (PK Carsport Chevrolet Camaro) and Marc Goossens (Braxx Racing Chevrolet Camaro). The two title contenders were involved in a crash that forced them to retire and both their cars suffered heavy damage.

Share Button