Bathurst 12 Hours
Ferrari wins Bathurst 12 Hours
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Ferrari wins Bathurst 12 Hours

John Bowe, Peter Edwards, Craig Lowndes and Mika Salo won Bathurst 12 Hours sharing the Maranello Motorsport’s Ferrari 458 GT3. Lowndes crossed the line just 0.4 ahead of HTP Motorsport Mercedes Benz driven by Maximilian Buhk, after a late-safety car with less than 20 minutes remaining, wiped out the lead the Australian had built up previously, turning the finish into a sprint race.

This was Lowndes’ sixth win at Bathurst, whilst team-mates Salo and Edwards won their first 1000 Kilometre race at the Mount Panorama track. Bowe scored his third 12-hour triumph in a day that saw the Melbourne-based squad win a race that their former driver Allan Simonsen had made his own, so the team dedicated their victory to the Dane who passed tragically at LeMans last year.

Buhk, 2013 winner Thomas Jaeger and Harold Primat scored the second place. The other Mercedes of Erebus Motorsport driven by Will Davison, Jack LeBrocq and Greg Crick finished third. Poleman Maro Engel and his team mates Bernd Schneider and Nico Bastian suffered a contact and finished seventh.

Porsche 997 GT3 Cup of Earl Bamber, Ben Barker and Stephen Grove won Class B. Audi of Oliver Gavin, Kevin Gleason, Richard Meins  and Rob Huff – who claimed the pole position on Saturday – suffered an engine problem after the fifth hour.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Bowe-Edwards-Lowndes-Salo Maranello (Ferrari 458 GT3) 12h00:29.575 »
Qualifying Maro Engel Erebus Motorsport (Mercedes SLS GT3) 2:03.858 »
Share Button