Bathurst 12 Hours
Engel secures the Allan Simonsen trophy
Photo Credit: PHOTO4

Engel secures the Allan Simonsen trophy

Maro Engel claimed the pole for the Bathurst 12 Hour with the Erebus Motorsport’s Mercedes Benz SLS GT3 shared with newcomer Nico Bastian and 2013 winner Bernd Schneider. Engel set the fastest time of 2:03.858, just 0.083 ahead of Mika Salo’s Ferrari 458 Italia, and secured the Allan Simonsen trophy.

Shane van Gisbergen brought the McLaren MP4 in third ahead the other Erebus-Mercedes driven by Will Davison. Nissan GTR Nismo of Buncombe-Chiyo-Kelly-Reip is fifth. David Russell lifted the JBS Lamborghini Gallardo to sixth, despite his team missing the first session this morning entirely.

An accident occurred to Jason Bright, who hit the wall hard with his Audi R8 LMS ultra in the opening qualifying session. The car was too badly damaged to continue. Steve Wyatt also crashed heavily with the AF Corse’s Ferrari.
Audi of the WTCC ace Rob Huff will start from pole in Class B.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Bowe-Edwards-Lowndes-Salo Maranello (Ferrari 458 GT3) 12h00:29.575 »
Qualifying Maro Engel Erebus Motorsport (Mercedes SLS GT3) 2:03.858 »
Share Button