Seat Leon Eurocup
Comini takes first new Leon Eurocup win

Comini takes first new Leon Eurocup win

Stefano Comini and Stian Paulsen claimed the wins in the first 2014 Seat Leon Eurocup round at the Nürburgring.

In Race 1 Comini dominated for Target Competition after securing the pole position in the morning and going on to win the race in the afternoon, leading all 12 laps. JSB Competition’s Julien Briché finished second. There were battles all the way down the field, with Paulsen gaining positions at the start to fight with Fran Rueda and Jordi Oriola for the final step of the podium. However, it was finally the Norwegian, who topped both free practice sessions on Friday, who finished third.

In Race 2 seconds after the lights Oriola and Amalia Vinyes had a contact. Pujolar Racing’s Thomas Fjordbach had a great start to snatch the lead from pole-sitter Lorenzo Veglia, but was forced to retire two laps later following an incident with the Italian. Meanwhile, Paulsen and Briché tried to stop Veglia from pulling away, until damage caused Briché to fall down the order. A lap later, Veglia was given a drive-through penalty for the incident with Fjordbach, which meant he had to give up the lead. Paulsen moved up to first and didn’t let that position go for the remainder of the race. Behind him, Baporo Motorsport’s Manuel Gião was safe in second position, trying to close the gap to the Norwegian. His team-mate Pol Rosell, Oriola, Rueda and Gaspar Racing’s Ferenc Ficza, were all fighting for third position, with Oriola coming out on top. The Spaniard opened up a gap and secured the final step of the podium; however, he was later given a 30-second penalty for the incident at the start with Vinyes, which demoted him to tenth in the final classification. Rueda kept Ficza behind to cross the line fourth, with Ficza and pole-sitter Veglia taking fifth and sixth respectively. The winner of race one, Swiss Stefano Comini, finished thirteenth.

Paulsen now leads the championship with 16 points, followed by Comini, who is tied in second place with Spaniard Rueda, both on 13 points. The second meeting of the season will take place in three weeks time (23-25 May) at the Salzburgring in Austria, together with the FIA World Touring Car Championship.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Stefano Comini Target Competition 26:09.222 »
Race 2 Stian Paulsen Stian Paulsen Racing 26:26.866 »
Qualifying Stefano Comini Target Competition 2:09.734 »
Free Practice 1 Stian Paulsen Stian Paulsen Racing 2:27.325 »
Free Practice 2 Stian Paulsen Stian Paulsen Racing 2:10.920 »
Share Button