TCR International Series
Colciago claims second TCR win

Colciago claims second TCR win

Roberto Colciago claimed his second TCR International Series victory in Bahrain, after last year’s win at Sepang. The M1RA driver and his Honda Civic Type-R made a perfect start and overhauled both the Opel Astra of polesitter Pierre-Yves Corthals and the Hugo Valente’s Seat Leon to lead the field going into Turn 1. That turned out to be the critical move as far as Colciago was concerned and the Italian driver led for the remainder of the nine-lap race. Valente finished second, while Jean-Karl Vernay was third in his Volkswagen after a thrilling series of battles with Corthals, James Nash and Dušan Boković. 

Eventually Boković had a contact with Corthals. Corthals suffered from power-sapping high engine temperatures in the race’s last few laps while it was a brake problem that caused Borković to run into Corthals and so ultimately deny the Opel a top-three finish. Stefano Comini’s Audi finished eighth making six brands in the top-eight.

In the Drivers’ championship, the result means four drivers are within a point of each other; Colciago and Vernay both have 40 points while the two race winners in Georgia Pepe Oriola (who finished sixth) and Davit Kajaia (who retired with a broken driveshaft) each have 39.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Roberto Colciago Honda Civic Type-R TCR 20:15.241 (9 laps) »
Race 2 Dusan Borković GE-Force (Alfa Romeo Giulietta TCR) 20:20.221 (9 laps) »
Qualifying Pierre-Yves Corthals Opel Astra TCR 2:11.903 »
Share Button