Citroen dominates its home race

Citroen dominates its home race

Citroën dominated also the second round of the 2014 WTCC on its home race at the Circuit Paul Ricard, clinching a double 1-2 win. Yvan Muller opened his personal count of wins, by taking Race 1 on wet track, after having inherited pole position following the cancellation of all qualifying times of Sébastien Loeb and José María López because of an anomaly in the fuel cut-off valves. Loeb stormed from the back of the grid to take second.

In Race 2, marked by two safety-car periods, López managed to win, despite starting from last position, after climbing throughout the field, escorted by Muller, while Loeb could not make better than sixth after hitting the tires at the first chicane.

Muller and López also set the fastest lap in Race 1 and 2 respectively, to be declared Yokohama Performers of the event. Today’s round saw Honda conquering its first two podium finishes of the season, with Gabriele Tarquini in Race 1 and Tiago Monteiro in Race 2. The Civic cars showed clear progress, as demonstrated also by the other points finishes of the customer cars of Norbert Michelisz and Mehdi Bennani. Rob Huff put an incredible show in the wet in Race 1 to offer Lada a great fifth place in Race 1. The Chevrolets were a little step behind today, with Hugo Valente sixth in Race 1 and Dusan Borković seventh in Race 2 as best results.

Franz Engstler continued to reign on the TC2 class, with two new wins, despite being hit by John Filippi in Race 2 when the Frenchman missed a braking.

With today’s results, López retains the lead in the Drivers’ Championship, where he has a 8-points advantage on Loeb and 18 on Muller. The championship will resume at Budapest’s Hungaroring, on May 4.



1Jóse Maria López85
2Sébastien Loeb73
3Yvan Muller65
4Gabriele Tarquini31
4Hugo Valente31
6Tom Chilton30
6Tiago Monteiro30
8Mehdi Bennani16
9Dusan Borkovic15
10Norbert Michelisz14
11Gianni Morbidelli10
11Rob Huff10
11Mikhail Kozlovskiy10
14Franz Engstler6
15John Filippi4
16Pasquale Di Sabatino2
16James Thompson2




  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 27:58.347 »
Race 2 José María López Citroën C-Elysee 30:24.551 »
Qualifying combined Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee - »
Qualifying 1 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 1:30.269 »
Qualifying 2 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 1:29.566 »
Qualifying 3 Yvan Muller Citroën C-Elysee 1:29.857 »
Free Practice 1 Sébastien Loeb Citroën C-Elysee 1:30.891 »
Free Practice 2 Hugo Valente Chevrolet RML Cruze TC1 1:30.673 »
Share Button