Cammish takes his first BTCC pole

Cammish takes his first BTCC pole

Halfords Yuasa Racing’s Dan Cammish has taken his first ever Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship pole position after setting a lap record at the Knockhill circuit.

To complete the front row was Team Parker Racing’s Stephen Jelley, who himself held provisional pole with just minutes of the session remaining. Three drivers clocked lap times in the 50 seconds bracket with BMW Pirtek Racing’s Andrew Jordan following close behind the lead duo.

The ever-improving Jelley was the first to dip under that benchmark and the BTCC race winner then went even quicker still in his BMW 125i M Sport, but not before Honda’s Cammish had recorded a hugely impressive 50.929s lap time. Jelley eventually fell short by just 0.023s with Jordan only 0.051s off the ultimate pace.

Championship leader Colin Turkington set the fourth fastest time for Team BMW. The double champion – carrying maximum success ballast due to his standings lead – finished ahead of Rockingham race winner Chris Smiley in the BTC Norlin Racing Honda.

Speedworks Motorsport’s Tom Ingram will line-up sixth on the grid for race one in his ToyotaCiceley Motorsport enjoyed a solid day at the tight and twisty Scottish track with the Mercedes pairing of Tom Oliphant and Adam Morgan setting the seventh and ninth best times respectively, with reigning champion Ash Sutton wedged between them on the timesheets in his Adrian Flux Subaru Racing Levorg.

Power Maxed TAG Racing’s Josh Cook rounded out the top ten in his Vauxhall Astra. The first 26 cars were separated by just 0.899s.


2018 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship – Qualifying – Knockhill

Dan CAMMISH (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing 50.929s (89.55 mph)
2 Stephen JELLEY (GBR) Team Parker Racing +0.023s
3 Andrew JORDAN (GBR) BMW Pirtek Racing +0.051s
4 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Team BMW +0.243s
Chris SMILEY (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.305s
6 Tom INGRAM (GBR) Speedworks Motorsport +0.307s
Tom OLIPHANT (GBR) Ciceley Motorsport +0.345s
Ashley SUTTON (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.384s
9 Adam MORGAN (GBR) Mac Tools with Ciceley Motorsport +0.414s
10 Josh COOK (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.422s
11 Brett SMITH (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.448s
12 Ricky COLLARD (GBR) Team BMW +0.452s
13 Rob AUSTIN (GBR) DUO Motorsport with HMS Racing +0.456s
14 Dan LLOYD (GBR) BTC Norlin Racing +0.460s
15 Tom CHILTON (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.461s
16 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team GardX Racing with Motorbase +0.465s
17 Jack GOFF (GBR) WIX Racing with Eurotech +0.504s
18 Jason PLATO (GBR) Adrian Flux Subaru Racing +0.573s
19 Ollie JACKSON (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +0.582s
20 Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing +0.596s
21 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing +0.646s
22 James COLE (GBR) Team Shredded Wheat Racing with Gallagher +0.679s
23 Rory BUTCHER (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +0.735s
24 Senna PROCTOR (GBR) Power Maxed TAG Racing +0.746s
25 Mike BUSHELL (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +0.764s
26 Matt SIMPSON (GBR) Simpson Racing +0.899s
27 Glynn GEDDIE (GBR) AmD with AutoAid/RCIB Insurance Racing +1.213s
28 Carl BOARDLEY (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars +1.234s
29 Sam SMELT (GBR) AmD with Cobra Exhausts +1.344s
30 Ollie PIDGLEY (GBR) Trade Price Cars with Brisky Racing +1.925s
31 Bobby THOMPSON (GBR) Team HARD with Trade Price Cars NO TIME

Share Button