Blancpain GT Series
Buhk, Perera complete a perfect weekend

Buhk, Perera complete a perfect weekend

After winning the Qualifying Race Saturday evening, Maxi Buhk and Franck Perera claimed the victory in the Main Race at Misano. The HTP Motorsport duo dominated the first round of the Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup ahead of Bentley Team M-Sport pairing Vincent Abril-Steven Kane, with Dominik Baumann and Jimmy Eriksson putting a second HTP Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3 in the top three.

At the start, Perera converted the pole position into the lead, increasing his advantage to over seven seconds by the time the pit window opened. Reigning Blancpain GT Series champion Buhk increased that lead to 23.353 seconds at the finish line. Never beforewas a Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup main race won by such a margin.

Behind the HTP Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3, Michael Meadows held on to second place for the first half of the race, but a problem with one of the wheel nuts at the pitstop dropped the AKKA ASP Mercedes-AMG down the order. That promoted the Bentley Continental GT3 to second, with Kane taking over from Abril. Jimmy Eriksson had already made an impressive comeback at the wheel of the black-and-green car – climbing from 20th on the starting grid to 7th at the pitstop – and once at the wheel, Baumann had gained some more places. The Bentley proved to be too wide and too fast for them to pass, however, and the two cars remained in second and third till the end.

Right behind them AKKA ASP Dani Juncadella and Felix Serralles put a third Mercedes-AMG in the top four, with Romain Monti and Christopher Haase completing the top-5 at the wheel of the Saintéloc Racing R8 LMS. Theirs became the first of the Audis to finish, after reigning Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup champion Enzo Ide spun out during the first half of the race.

Ide and co-driver Christopher Mies eventually finished in 11th, just in front of the HTP Motorsport Mercedes-AMG of Jules Szymkowiak and Fabian Schiller, who won the Silver Cup.

The polesitter in the PRO-AM Cup, reigning champion Michael Broniszewski, was unable to defend his chances either, when his car quickly developed a problem. Alexander Matschull, at the wheel of the Rinaldi Racing Ferrari, took advantage of a hectic few opening laps to establish a healthy lead, and Daniel Keilwitz completed the job. Kessel Racing TP12-duo and Blancpain GT Series-newcomers Carlo Van Dam and Piti Bhirombhakdi took the runners-up spot.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Maxi Buhk-Franck Perera HTP Motorsport (Mercedes-AMG GT3) 1h00:29.750 (38 laps) »
Qualifying Race Maxi Buhk-Franck Perera HTP Motorsport (Mercedes-AMG GT3) 1h23:17.761 (37 laps) »
Share Button