British F3
British F3 heads to Snetterton

British F3 heads to Snetterton

The third BRDC British F3 returns at Snetterton circuit this weekend, 27/28 May. Championship leader Enaam Ahmed claimed at Rockingham his fourth win in succession. But in a dramatic twist, first corner incidents delayed Ahmed in both of main raceday Sunday’s rounds, allowing his rivals to close in on his advantage and narrowing his lead to 15 points. Ahmed could only manage two eight place finishes in Sunday’s races, and the first to benefit was his Carlin team-mate Cameron Das. After adding a maiden win to his two Saturday pole positions, Das lies second in title race heading to Snetterton.

Rival team Fortec is poised to attack this weekend, with Welsh racer Ben Hingeley winning the most recent round to assume third place in the standings. He is one place ahead of Carlin’s James Pull, who finished second twice at the Oulton Park season-opener and looking for his first British F3 win.

Fifth place in the standings is South African former Red Bull and Lotus Junior Callan O’Keefe, who is another double podium finisher. For this weekend he’ll be joined at Douglas Motorsport by debutant Jordan Cane.

Toby Sowery heads to his home round determined to make up for a troubled start to the season having started as title favourite. Lanan Racing driver claimed the second place last week at Buriram, making his debut in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia Championship. Behind him are Chris Dittmann Racing’s Omar Ismail and Hillspeed’s Chase Owen.

In ninth place is Jamie Chadwick, who is aiming to follow up an encouraging weekend in Northamptonshire where she scored her first podium finish. The top ten is completed by Fortec’s racer Nicolai Kjaergaard, who is hunting down his maiden British F3 podium.


2017 BRDC British Formula 3 – Standings after race six of 24

1. Enaam Ahmed, Carlin, 156pts
2. Cameron Das, Carlin, 141pts
3. Ben Hingeley, Fortec Motorsports, 134pts
4. James Pull, Carlin, 119pts
5. Callan O’Keeffe, Douglas Motorsport, 115pts
6. Toby Sowery, Lanan Racing, 86pts
7. Omar Ismail, Chris Dittmann Racing, 79pts
8. Chase Owen,    Hillspeed with Cliff Dempsey Racing, 63pts
9. Jamie Chadwick, Double R Racing, 54pts
10. Nicolai Kjaergaard, Fortec Motorsports, 53pts

Share Button