BRDC F4 set for Silverstone season opener

BRDC F4 set for Silverstone season opener

The second season of the BRDC F4 Championship blasts into life on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit this weekend (26-27 April) with a grid of more than 20 talented young hopefuls aiming to emulate inaugural champion Jake Hughes.

Drivers from across the world have flocked to F4 pre-season, with 12 nationalities represented in this season’s line-up, all fighting it out to become this year’s champion and earn a prize GP3 test in Abu Dhabi with the Arden International team. Eight of those contenders are British, with Struan Moore and Sennan Fielding returning for another season while Winter Championship race-winner Will Palmer embarks on a full season challenge, partnering Fielding at HHC Motorsport. Moore has switched to champions Lanan Racing and was fastest in last week’s pre-season test at Snetterton.

British newcomers include the highly-rated George Russell, who after claiming 13 karting titles in five years, including a double CIK-FIA European crown, makes the step up to cars this year partnering Moore at Lanan. 2013 McLaren Autosport BRDC Award finalist and Formula Renault BARC champion Chris Middlehurst has made the switch to F4 with Mark Godwin Racing and will partner Scottish driver David Wagner, who returns to racing after a year out in 2013. Ginetta Junior graduate Tom Jackson will race with Chris Dittmann Racing, while Jordan Albert, who lives a stone’s throw away in Silverstone Village, makes his F4 debut with Sean Walkinshaw Racing having competed in Formula Ford 1600, Mazdas and Fun Cup last year.

The international drivers are headed by South Africa’s Raoul Hyman (HHC Motorsport) who returns for a second season having finished seventh overall in F4 last year, and was second quickest in the Snetterton test. After picking up maiden podiums in 2013, Diego Menchaca (Douglas Motorsport), Falco Wauer (Enigma Motorsport) and Gustavo Lima (Hillspeed) have set their sights on victories for their new teams, while Malaysia’s Rahul Mayer is optimistic of challenging for regular podium honours after a promising first season in 2013.

Newcomers to the series include 2012 Rotax Max World Karting Champion Charlie Eastwood who races with Douglas Motorsport, partnering fellow newcomer, Mexican Rodrigo Fonseca. Another Mexican, Alfredo Zabalza, joins the international Hillspeed line-up while F4’s first Indian racer, Arjun Maini, joins champions Lanan and has proved rapid so far in testing, setting the fourth quickest time overall at the Snetterton test.

Sean Walkinshaw Racing are another team with a strong international focus, having recruited Venezuelan karting ace Diego Borrelli (pictured) and Formel ADAC Masters race-winner Nicolas Beer from Denmark. The new for 2014 Brazilian Petroball Racing team have signed up Rubens Barrichello protégé Gaetano di Mauro and American Dan Roeper, with Dutchman Michael Claessens completing the line-up at Mark Godwin Racing.

F4 will again feature 24 races throughout the season with prestigious support slots at the Blancpain GT Sprint Series at Brands Hatch in May, as well as on the British F3 and GT bill at Snetterton in June and Brands Hatch in August.



2Charlie EastwoodDouglas Motorsport
3Will PalmerHHC Motorsport
4Sennan FieldingHHC Motorsport
5Gustavo LimaHillspeed
7Raoul HymanHHC Motorsport
8George RussellLanan Racing
9Struan MooreLanan Racing
10Tom JacksonChris Dittmann Racing
12Alfredo ZabalzaHillspeed
13Michael ClaessensMark Godwin Racing
16Chris MiddlehurstMark Godwin Racing
21Gaetano di MauroPetroball Racing
23Jordan AlbertSean Walkinshaw Racing
26Rodrigo FonsecaDouglas Motorsport
27Nicolas BeerSean Walkinshaw Racing
36Arjun MainiLanan Racing
41Diego BorrelliSean Walkinshaw Racing
43David WagnerMark Godwin Racing
51Falco WauerEnigma Motorsport
61Dan RoeperPetroball Racing
68Diego MenchacaDouglas Motorsport
72Rahul Raj MayerHillspeed

Related Profiles:

Share Button