Black Falcon team takes first 2014 win

Black Falcon team takes first 2014 win

Lance David Arnold, Andreas Simonsen and Christian Menzel won the 45th Adenauer ADAC simfy-Trophy in the Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG GT3 of the Black Falcon team, after 18 race laps into first position. They finished with an advance of 31.186 seconds ahead of the second placed BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS shared by Jörg Müller and Uwe Alzen, in a BMW Z4 GT3. Also with a gap of less than one minute behind the winners, with a distance of 53.116 seconds, finished the Frikadelli Racing Team in third place, with Klaus Abbelen, Patrick Huisman, Sabine Schmitz and Frank Stippler (Porsche 911 GT3 R).

The race which was scheduled to run over the usual four hour race duration, was stopped after 181 minutes due to an accident at the section Döttinger Höhe. The race could not be resumed as there was too much debris on the track in this high-speed area. As more than 160 minutes of the regular distance were however covered, full championship points were awarded. All the drivers which were involved in the accident were able to get out of their cars without assistance and they have immediately received medical care.

Black Falcon team’s car took also the pole position (8:02.098) end fastest race lap (8:10.910), dominating this fourth VLN race in a superior manner. The win in the group of VLN production cars went to Claudius Karch and Kai Riemer in the Porsche Cayman S of the Mathol Racing team. The fastest group H car was the Porsche 911 GT3 RSR driven by Jörn Schmidt-Staade and Stefan Rehkopf. The Opel Astra OPC Cup class was won by Hannu Luostarinen and Tim Schrick for the Team Kissling Motorsport. For the third time in the current season, Adam Osieka and Steve Jahns dominated the class of the Cup-Porsche race cars from team GetSpeed Performance. The Renault Clio-Cup class was won by Axel and Max Friedhoff. Nigel and Sarah Moore celebrated their second successive win in the Toyota GT 86 Cup, while Daniel Zils, Norbert Fischer and Uwe Ebertz scored their second victory in the BMW M235i Racing Cup.

Rolf Derscheid and Michael Flehmer currently have a fantastic run with their BMW 325i entered by the MSC Wahlscheid. With four class wins in four races, the German duo thus defended their lead in the VLN endurance racing championship.

For a great part of the VLN family, the highlight of the season in the Green Hell, the ADAC Zurich 24h Race to take place between 19 and 22 June, is now coming very soon. The VLN endurance racing championship season will be resumed on 5th July with the 54th ADAC Reinoldus-Langstreckenrennen running over the usual distance of four hours.


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Arnold-Menzel-Simonsen Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 / Black Falcon 2h37:17.728 »
Qualifying Arnold-Menzel-Simonsen Mercedes SLS AMG GT3 / Black Falcon 8:02.098 »
Share Button