TCR International Series
Audi secures first TCR New Zealand title

Audi secures first TCR New Zealand title

The Audi RS 3 LMS is the first winner of TCR New Zealand with Chris van der Drift. This season was the first time that the Pacific state held a championship according to the regulations of the globally popular TCR category. Due to the pandemic, the racing action was concentrated on three individual races over one weekend at the Highlands circuit.

For the Audi customer team Track Tec Racing, the event was a race on home turf as the team base is located on the South Island next to this circuit. The 35-year-old expert racing driver van der Drift stormed to the front from sixth on the grid in the first race, took the lead midway through the 30-minute sprint race and won with a commanding 22-second margin.

In the second race, the Audi privateer with New Zealand and Dutch roots successfully fought off the attacks of his pursuer Gene Rollinson in a Hyundai and celebrated his second victory with a half-second lead. A fifth place in the third race was enough for van der Drift to win the title with a 52-point lead. Third place in the standings went to Lochlainn Fitzgerald-Symes in another Audi RS 3 LMS from Track Tec Racing. Australian touring car legend Greg Murphy rounded out the team’s weekend with two third-place finishes in the Audi in the first two races. In the Audi RS 3 LMS’ overall record since 2017, the success in New Zealand is already the 17th drivers title and 55th championship win in all classification categories combined.

Share Button