Assenheimer, Baumann lead Mercedes one-two
Photo Credit: VLN media

Assenheimer, Baumann lead Mercedes one-two

Team AutoArena Motorsport celebrated its first VLN victory at the 50th ADAC Barbarossapreis. After 28 race laps, Patrick Assenheimer and Dominik Baumann crossed the finish line as the winners with the slight advantage of 3.651 seconds over the second placed Edoardo Mortara and Renger van der Zande to lead a Mercedes 1-2. For both drivers, this was likewise their first victory in the VLN.

Team SPS automotive performance‘s Mortara and der Zande narrowly missed the victory at their VLN debut, as they led the race to loose the victory due to a small error in the last pit-stop, when the team failed to comply with the minimum stopping time by only 0.9 seconds but which resulted in a 36-second time penalty.

Third place in this eighth race of the season went to Jonathan Hirschi, Jordan Tresson and Hunter Abbott in a BMW M6 GT3 of Walkenhorst Motorsport.

Behind the top three finished the new Aston Martin Vantage GT3 shared by Maxime Martin and Darren Turner. Only one position down finished Christopher Haase and Jamie Green with the new Audi R8 LMS. This had also been the order of the two cars in the results of the qualifying.



  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race Baumann/Assenheimer AutoArena / Mercedes-AMG GT3 4:06:48.026 / 28 L »
Qualifying Darren/Martin Aston Martin Vantage GT3 8:31.359 »
Share Button