F.Renault 2.0 NEC
Amweg and Morris win at Silverstone

Amweg and Morris win at Silverstone

Swiss driver Levin Amweg (ART Junior Team) and Briton Seb Morris (Fortec Motorsports) won the two races of the Formula Renault 2.0 Northern European Cup at Silverstone last weekend.

After a heavy rain in the morning, everyone completed two formation laps in the Saturday race that was shortened from 25 to 22 minutes. Amweg took the lead and finished first in front of polsitter Aurélien Panis (pictured). Jake Hughes ended third for Mark Burdett Motorsport followed by Swede Gustav Malja (Josef Kaufmann Racing). Steijn Schothorst (Manor MP Motorsport) started from eight to finish fifth. Morris spun and scored a dissapointing 14th position. Ukyo Sasahara (Euronova Racing), who claimed a second place in Race 1 at Monza, did not have a good qualifying session and had to be happy with a tenth place. The leader of the championship, Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) was 13th.

On Sunday, the Formula 1 track of Silverstone was completely dry. Morris started on pole and had to defend his place from his teammate Ben Barnicoat. They were both followed closely by Callan O’Keeffe and Delétraz. The latter had to retire with technical problems in lap 9. Amweg and Malja had a contact in the first lap and did not finish the race. Barnicoat defended his second place against O’Keeffe. In this fight Barnicoat cut his right rear tyre but after a pitstop managed to climb back to place 18th. During the rest of the race O’Keeffe put pressure on Morris, but he could not overtake, and the 2013 runner up of British Formula 4 could celebrate his first win in the series. Schothorst completed the podium. Matthew Graham (AVF) set his best results so far with a fourth place. Hughes finished fifth in front of Ryan Tveter and Sasahara.

Next Formula Renault 2.0 NEC round is scheduled in three weeks time, 13-15 June, at the Hockenheimring.


Formula Renault 2.0 NEC - Drivers' standings after Round 3-4

1Steijn SchothorsManor MP Motorsport72
2Louis DeletrazJosef Kaufmann Racing62
3Seb MorrisFortec Motorsports57
4Ukyo SasaharaEuronova Racing49
5Levin AmwegART Junior Team47
5Ben BarnicoatFortec Motorsport47
7Mathew GrahamAVF46
8Kevin JörgJosef Kaufmann Racing44
9Callan O'KeeffeART Junior Team37
10Jake HughesMark Burdett Racing36
10Andrea PizzitolaManor MP Motorsport36


  Driver Team Time Download Results
Race 1 Levin Amweg ART Junior Team 22:06.495 »
Race 2 Sebastian Morris Fortec Motorsport 26:08.325 »
Qualifying 1 Aurelién Panis ART Junior Team 1:58.735 »
Qualifying 2 Sebastian Morris Fortec Motorsport 2:13.966 »
Free Practice 1 Steijn Schothorst Manor MP Motorsport 2:00.782 »
Free Practice 2 Jake Hughes Mark Burdett Racing 1:59.221 »
Share Button