GP3 Series
Alex Lynn tops Free Practice
Photo Credit: © GP3 Media Services - Malcolm Griffiths

Alex Lynn tops Free Practice

GP3 Series leader Alex Lynn topped the forty-five minute Free Practice session in Spielberg. His fellow Carlin rookie team mate Emil Bernstorff finished second fastest ahead of Nick Yelloly (Status Grand Prix).

Arden International’s Robert Visoiu and Richie Stanaway (Status Grand Prix) were first to lead the drivers onto the track. Lynn held top spot on the timesheet – lapping in the 1m22’s early on but after ten minutes into the session, it was red flagged following an incident for Trident’s Roman De Beer. The South African rookie ran wide over the kerb on the last corner which sent his car straight across the start/finish line – resulting in light contact with the wall. De Beer was uninjured and climbed out of his car as the clock ticked down while his machine was recovered.

Stanaway rose to P1 once the session resumed but it was only for a few seconds as Lynn improved on the Kiwi’s time. With around fifteen minutes remaining, the drivers returned to pitlane for a fresh set of Pirelli rubber. Bernstorff shot to P2, a mere 0.032s off his teammate and the duo became locked into a battle to see who would end up heading the timings.
The Carlin pair switched positions at least three times in the final moments but it was Barcelona race winner Lynn who set a flier to become the only driver to lap in the 1m20s, with a half a second advantage over his next competitor: Bernstorff.

Yelloly clocked the third quickest time ahead of Santiago Urrutia, debutant Riccardo Agostini with Hilmer Motorsport, Nelson Mason, Patrick Kujala, Visoiu, Alfonso Celis. Jr and Dino Zamparelli.

Qualifying takes place at 09.45 am local time tomorrow morning, with changeable conditions likely – it promises to be a very important session.


GP3 Series - Red Bull Ring - Free Practice

1.Alex LynnCarlin1:20.58322
2.Emil BernstorffCarlin1:21.12522
3.Nick YellolyStatus Grand Prix1:21.13221
4.Santiago UrrutiaKoiranen GP1:21.28718
5.Riccardo AgostiniHilmer Motorsport1:21.35120
6.Nelson MasonHilmer Motorsport1:21.37123
7.Patrick KujalaMarussia Manor Racing1:21.39022
8.Robert VisoiuArden International1:21.41121
9.Alfonso Celis. JrStatus Grand Prix1:21.46022
10.Dino ZamparelliART Grand Prix1:21.47320
11.Mathéo TuscherJenzer Motorsport1:21.48119
12.Dean StonemanMarussia Manor Racing1:21.49722
13.Marvin KirchhöferART Grand Prix1:21.54820
14.Patric NiederhauserArden International1:21.65822
15.Jann MardenboroughArden International1:21.90521
16.Richie StanawayStatus Grand Prix1:21.95219
17.Alex FontanaART Grand Prix1:21.95319
18.Luis Sa SilvaCarlin1:22.02622
19.Pal VarhaugJenzer Motorsport1:22.26920
20.Adderly FongJenzer Motorsport1:22.29522
21.Jimmy ErikssonKoiranen GP1:23.02118
22.Nikolay MartsenkoHilmer Motorsport1:23.40320
23.Ryan CullenMarussia Manor Racing1:23.65622
24.Roman De BeerTrident1:23.9027
25.Victor CarboneTrident1:24.46218
26.Carmen JordaKoiranen GP1:24.68720
Share Button